Don’t trust when someone says money is not everything!

Han Hoang
Wellbeing Tips and Guides
3 min readMay 5, 2024
People do not say what they think (Source: Pexels)

“Money is not everything in life!”

I am hearing some cheers outside, which probably means I am about to get into trouble again. I hope there are still some people out there who believe that money is all that matters.

I have a story to tell you. Once, I was hanging out with my college buddies at a restaurant. Out of nowhere, one of them said, “Money ain’t everything.” It wouldn’t have been surprising if a rich Shark Tank Vietnam guest had said it, but coming from one of us, it was unexpected. You know, it was a bit weird, considering we were all broke college students, and just a few minutes before, we were struggling to find a cheap restaurant.

On the contrary, I am really grateful and appreciate the presence of money in my life, no matter how much or how little I have in my hand. What’s the difference? Take a simple example with my top favorite facial cleanser. When I have a lot of money, I can buy it when I want, almost immediately. So what happens when I am low cash? I can still buy, but waiting for coupons or vouchers takes longer. Overall, spending money with a purpose can satisfy my emotions. In case you don’t have money, you know, I’ve been washing my face with my hands for the past 16 years, and it’s effective, but sometimes I get pimples. I’m not saying it’s because my hands aren’t clean enough. I guess it’s the result of the pressure of not having money!

My buddies didn’t see eye to eye with me, especially the one who talked about money. Though I didn’t see things his way, it was cool to hear his story. At least I got some insight from the whole thing.

The one who says that who are they?

He’s a guy who is smart, dresses well and has a pretty average family background. He’s got enough money to get by, but he’s not rolling in dough. We went to the same high school and became friends because he’s hilarious. So, when it comes to money, I still can’t tell if he’s serious or just messing around.

Do they have any reasons behind this?

He was not just messing around. He dropped a bombshell. He told me he’d been out of work for over a month after a big argument with his boss, which ended up with him quitting his job. He said he was taking this time to chill and recover from the stress. I’m not 100% sure, but I reckon his boss and the company really got to him. That’s why he feels this way.

Do they act the same way they say?

So my friend got super mad when he heard someone (me) say, “If money isn’t that important, then why work? Because that’s the only reason to work, right?” He claimed this was ridiculous because he sees work as a way to learn new things, gain experience, and grow. Yes, the paycheck is nice, but it’s not the only reason he works. He’s not that all about making a ton of money, but he still takes his career seriously. I didn’t agree with him totally, but I didn’t try to change his mind either.

What happens then?

We live in an Asian country where there is a comfortable standard of living for someone who puts effort into making money.

When my friend uttered that sentence, he was still living with his family, and his parents paid for all household expenses. After that, each person had their way of developing, so it took about two years before we met again. The difference is that now we are better off than before. We can finally choose the restaurant based on our interests, not our budget. At this time, my friend who “money isn’t everything” suddenly disappeared.

What is the reason for this?

“He’s busy with extra work.”

Does he work overtime? Isn’t that right? He doesn’t care about money.

“But the landlord, the utility company, his parents, his girlfriend, and his two cats do.”

I don’t know why. I think I still hear his voice in my ear.

“I’m just growing, okay?”

--

--

Han Hoang
Wellbeing Tips and Guides

A story teller, content creator, and digital marketer, I am also an audience. Diving into the marketing world, I draw a line between creativity and reality.