Diversity & Ability
Wellbeing Wednesday
3 min readSep 9, 2015

--

Humanity or inhumanity? That is the?

Hi Folks

This week, when we are all asking ourselves, what humanity really is…
I would like to share an incident that happened to me last week, and another that happened several weeks prior. It has raised a couple of questions, in me, about being human vs. being safe as a lone worker. Also, about vulnerability and maybe how to plan to stay safe in new or potentially vulnerable situations.

Last week I was driving on the M1, on my way to a student in East London . I was coming off a slip road and was waved down by another motorist.

I didn’t really think about it and, of course, I stopped. The gentleman, who was in need, come up to my passenger side window; which I opened. He handed me his gold ring and started to unfasten a thick gold chain from around his neck as he told me that he owned a lorry company (somewhere in Europe) giving me his business card .

He explained that he had run out of petrol and could I give him some money to get some petrol. In exchange he would give me his gold. He pleaded with me profusely and I reached for my purse. I only had a ten pound note and handed it over to him. However, he said “You must have more, have a look …I know you have more…I will give it back to you… promise….. promise!” To which I said I really did not have anymore and that I was sorry.

As I drove away it occurred to me about just how vulnerable I had been in this situation and how unwittingly and easily I had been drawn in to this potentially dangerous situation.

I just thought that I would have wanted someone to stop if it had been me in trouble. Humanitarian or Stupid? Did I let my humanity put me in a compromising position?

I had a similar, but more horrific experience, when I was on on the M25 first thing in the morning, a few weeks ago now. I could see cars swerving in the distance around an accident. 10–15 cars passed this one car that was straddled across the middle lane. As I approach I was really shocked to see that the driver (covered in blood) was just falling out the car onto the motorway. No one had stopped at all! Was stopping human or stupid?

It occurred to me that the students we work with are vulnerable too. So, doing our job is twofold…keeping ourselves safe by being aware of potential environments that maybe hazardous. But also making students aware of situations where they need to be safe, and maybe even arm them with strategies that can help them in those vulnerable moments.

I was particularly thinking about all those fresher’s going off to uni for the first time and experiencing many vulnerabilities.

How might they be supported?

These could either be through simply viewing new environments through Google maps or Google earth, so that they familiarise themselves with their surroundings, eg. University campuses. Or telling friends and family their whereabouts when attending Fresher’s week parties.

Techy options include using the app www.life360.com (which even shares shopping lists with significant others!) . This may be something that we might like to organise with our Buddies so that someone will always know your whereabouts?!

So should we trade in humanity for safety? I would always say no as I would hope that someone would have stopped for me on the M25.

I think being true to oneself is important to our inner well-being, as it doesn’t compromise our values, but keeping safe is also essential and just as bigger part of ones well-being.

Your thoughts?……

Helen

--

--

Diversity & Ability
Wellbeing Wednesday

Social enterprise designed and led by dyslexic and disabled students, aimed at sharing and promoting a holistic provision of support strategies and AT training.