Atlanta to Banff: A Road Trip Adventure

Approximately 4600 Miles (round trip)

Kevin Meldau
Wellness Travel Adventures
5 min readJul 8, 2023

--

Photo by Greg Rosenke on Unsplash

Road trips can and should be a lot of fun, but they can also be a real test of patience, especially when you’re stuck in a car by yourself for days on end. It’s like a social experiment gone wrong. You start off all excited, singing along to your favorite tunes, then slowly, things start to unravel. Fast.

I’m not 100% convinced that I don’t have a very ‘mild form’ of schizophrenia, here’s why — there’s always that one personality who’s convinced they’re a human GPS when the signal is lost. They sit in the driver seat, holding the phone like it’s the key to the universe. “No, no, no, turn left here! Oh wait, I meant right. No, go back!” It’s like having a backseat driver, but in the front seat!

Next comes the struggle to create the ultimate playlist. Every personality and mood has their own taste in music, right? You know it’s bad when you start playing songs from the ’80s, and the millennials at the red lights act like they’re hearing ancient Egyptian chants.

Let’s talk about gas station snacks? I don’t know what it is, but as soon as you set foot in a gas station during a road trip, all your healthy-eating resolutions go out the window. It’s like your brain goes, ‘Hey, you’re on vacation! Time to consume all the beef jerky and junk-food in sight.’” But what’s worse than the gas station snacks? The public restrooms! In the land of maple syrup and hockey, I found a few places with a very subtle but hilarious contrast between American and Canadian bathrooms. You see, in America, toilets are equipped with a powerful flush that could rival a hurricane, while in Canada, they have a polite flush that whispers “sorry” as it gently removes its contents.

All Americans that get easily offended should look away for 10 seconds. You’re not going to like what I’m about to say! Everything east of the Rocky Mountain range looks the same! It’s mind-numbing, and it forces you to ask yourself the same question again and again, why am I doing this? For me, the answer to this is relatively simple — I’ve always loved traveling, and I thought it would make an interesting story one day.

So how does a person even think about sitting alone in a car for hours on end without going completely insane? I’m glad you asked! You speak to strangers, really. I decided to stop every few hours, and speak to strangers at gas stations, restaurants, coffee shops etc. and ask one simple question: give me a song suggestion for my cross-country road trip. Here are a few of my favorites.

Oh, the joy of meeting strangers! It’s like a box of chocolates, you never know what you’re going to get, except sometimes it’s a hilarious adventure. Whether it’s in line at the grocery store, or at a friend’s awkward dinner party, encountering unfamiliar faces can lead to some truly unforgettable moments. Imagine finding yourself at a party where you don’t know a soul. You feel like a fish-out-of-water, desperately trying to navigate the sea of unfamiliar faces. Then, out of the blue, you stumble upon the strangest person in the room. They’re wearing a neon jumpsuit and juggling flaming torches. You can’t help but be mesmerized by their sheer courage and complete disregard for social norms. Suddenly, the party doesn’t seem so intimidating anymore. You grab a drink and join in the madness, realizing that the best memories are often made with the strangest of strangers.

As I left Atlanta, I felt an undeniable itch for adventure. I knew full well this was NOT going to be the road trip of a lifetime, it was going to be a slog, a journey from the heart of the South all the way to the breathtaking beauty of Canada. Packed with anticipation and a tank full of gas, I set off on a road trip that would take me through the heartland of America, with a pit stop in the vibrant city of Minneapolis.

As I merged onto the highway, the freedom of the open road enveloped me. The allure of road tripping lay in the exhilarating uncertainty of what lay ahead. With the radio blasting my new favorite playlist, I watched as the urban landscape gave way to sprawling fields and rolling hills. The thrill of the unknown was exciting.

After many hours, conversations with myself, songs, I finally arrived in Minneapolis, Minnesota. The city welcomed me with its infectious energy and vibrant atmosphere. I spent a few minutes exploring the iconic Minneapolis Sculpture Garden, then crashed hard. Leaving Minneapolis behind, I continued my odyssey northward, crossing the border at Eastport-Kingsgate. Unfortunately, a large part of the journey through the picturesque landscapes of Canada was done at night, but again, I was on a mission — get to Banff! I’d love to do Canada again, definitely NOT by car though.

After days of driving, the majestic peaks of the Canadian Rockies finally came into view, and I knew I was close to reaching my destination: Banff National Park. I could spend days at Lake Louise and I will be back for sure. There is something magical that floats in the air, like a bear cub learning to swim — unbearably adorable and totally breathtaking!

As my road trip drew to a close, I found myself reflecting on the incredible journey I had undertaken. The allure of road tripping lies not just in the thrill of the adventure but also in the transformative power it holds. Each mile traversed had taught me lessons in resilience, patience, and embracing the unknown. It had connected me with the people I met and breathtaking landscapes of the places I had visited, leaving an everlasting impression. Despite all the madness, road trips create some of the best memories. The inside jokes, the random pit stops, and the unforgettable images you remember along the way. It’s like a chaotic adventure, and even though you might need a vacation from your vacation, I wouldn’t trade those moments for anything.

--

--

Kevin Meldau
Wellness Travel Adventures

Cherish life's extraordinary moments, one story at a time.