Journey Across Continents: Reflections of a Wanderer

A letter from afar, tracing the paths of separation and gratitude

Kevin Meldau
Wellness Travel Adventures
5 min readFeb 23, 2024

--

Dear Mom and Dad,

I pray that you are safe and healthy in South Africa. I want to share with you the journey I’ve been on since leaving our homeland. It’s been a tumultuous ride, one filled with longing, loneliness, and a constant sense of guilt for being so far away from you both.

Leaving South Africa, with all its beauty and pain, was both a necessity and a heart-wrenching decision. Growing up in a country torn apart by the scars of apartheid, I witnessed firsthand the injustices and struggles. The brutal state violence against anti-apartheid activists, the gruesome practice of necklacing, and the political assassinations of our heroes left an indelible mark on my soul. Despite the resilience of our people and the efforts to rebuild, the promise of a better life seemed elusive. It was with a heavy heart that I made the decision to leave, in search of opportunities and a sense of belonging that seemed out of reach in my homeland. Yet, even as I’ve traversed continents and cultures, the ache of being separated from my roots remains, a constant reminder of the complex emotions that come with leaving behind the land of my birth.

Living in England initially offered a refuge from the turmoil, with its quaint streets and endless cups of tea. But beneath the surface, I felt like a stranger, disconnected from the warmth and familiarity of our South African community. The illusion of peace shattered one fateful day in June 1996 when the IRA bombed Manchester. The devastation and chaos that followed were a stark reminder of the fragility of life and the ever-present threat of violence, even in places that seemed safe.

Photo by Sushil Nash on Unsplash

In Thailand, on the way down to Malaysia, I faced another brush with mortality. It was a day etched in fear and disbelief. I found myself involved in a bus accident that left me staring death in the face. The screech of tires, the shattering of glass, and the cries of fellow passengers echoed in my ears as the bus careened off the road. In those harrowing moments, I grappled with the fragility of life, the sudden realization that it could all be snuffed out in an instant. It’s an experience that continues to haunt me, a reminder of the fleeting nature of our existence and the preciousness of every moment we’re granted.

Methamphetamine abuse poses a significant challenge in Thailand. This bus driver reportedly fell asleep at the wheel due to methamphetamine overuse.

Living through the events of April and May 2010 in Bangkok, particularly the Red Shirt protests and the subsequent crackdown by the Thai military, was a harrowing and deeply unsettling experience for many residents of the city. The protests, which began peacefully as a demonstration against the government of Prime Minister Abhisit Vejjajiva, quickly escalated into a full-blown crisis that plunged the capital into chaos and violence.

For those living in Bangkok at the time, the presence of the Red Shirt protest camp in the heart of the city became an ever-present reality. The camp, sprawling across key commercial areas, not only disrupted daily life but also served as a constant reminder of the deep political divisions tearing the country apart. Streets were blocked, traffic was snarled, and businesses struggled to operate amidst the unrest.

The situation reached a tipping point on May 19, 2010, when the Thai military moved in to clear the protest camp. What followed was a scene of chaos and destruction as clashes erupted between security forces and protesters. The crackle of gunfire and the roar of explosions echoed through the streets as buildings went up in flames.

In the aftermath of the crackdown, Bangkok resembled a city scarred by war. Buildings lay in ruins, businesses were destroyed, and the streets were littered with debris. The psychological toll of the events weighed heavily on the city’s residents, many of whom struggled to come to terms with the trauma they had witnessed.

Despite the challenges and the moments of loneliness, I want you to know that life is good. I am grateful for the opportunities that have come my way, and I’m particularly thankful to both of you for giving me the chance to pursue a life beyond our borders. The experiences I’ve had, the people I’ve met, and the lessons I’ve learned have enriched my life in ways I could have never imagined. While the ache of longing for home persists, there’s also a sense of gratitude for the journey I’ve been on and the person I’ve become. So, even in the midst of the pain of separation, there’s a flicker of hope and appreciation for the life I’ve been blessed with.

I carry the spirit of our homeland with me wherever I go, a beacon of hope in the darkest of times. And though I may be far from home, know that you are always in my thoughts. Until we meet again, I hold onto the memories of our family, the laughter, the love, and the bonds that will never be broken.

With all my love,
Kevin

--

--

Kevin Meldau
Wellness Travel Adventures

Cherish life's extraordinary moments, one story at a time.