Meet our Team: Dan Bruzzese, Plant Expert

Dan
Welltended
Published in
2 min readJul 10, 2017

Welltended is the houseplant selection & delivery service for city-dwellers. Our main goal is to make it easier for our customers to outfit their homes and offices with gorgeous, green plant decor. Today, Welltended’s Plant Expert Dan answers a few questions to introduce himself:

When did you join Welltended?
I joined Welltended, after having just graduated from Northwestern University with a Master’s degree in Plant Biology and Conservation. Looking for a way to apply my recently acquired knowledge, I jumped at the opportunity when I heard Welltended was looking for a plant expert.

Where are you from?
I grew up in Connecticut. In 2008, I moved to Upstate New York to attend Hamilton College where I studied Biology. After graduation, I moved to New York City to work in an electron microscopy lab before moving to Chicago for my Master’s degree in Plant Biology and Conservation. At Northwestern, I studied the process of evolution and how it created earth’s great biodiversity.

What is your role at Welltended?
As Welltended’s plant expert, my main goal is helping customers have the best houseplant experience possible. Whether it is creating care guides optimized for each houseplant species or answering customer questions, my aim is to help remove the stress from houseplant ownership. I can also be found blogging about the wild world of plants on Welltended.

Why houseplants?
By owning houseplants and interacting with them, it is my hope that people become interested in the diversity of plants and their conservation. Humans are rapidly changing the world and it’s important we save the parts of it we find beautiful. Plus, on a less serious note, houseplants are a way to prove to myself that I can nurture something.

Favorite houseplant?
Any type of succulent! To me, succulents look like alien vegetables. Their exotic shapes and growth form are unlike any other type of houseplant. And if treated well, succulents will flower by shooting off a wild protuberance. To boot, succulents look elegant in a nice pot, are easy to care for, and are easy to propagate. I can pluck a leaf, stick it in some soil, and after a few weeks have new alien produce!

--

--