The Value of Teamwork

Emily Madill
Wellthy Living
Published in
4 min readJan 11, 2017

--

image licensed from Shutterstock

Are you a team player or do you prefer to tackle projects on your own? Whether you are a seasoned teammate or not, there is tremendous value in collaboration. It doesn’t matter if you join together on a work-related project or a task at home; the reward comes when you figure out how to reach the finish line with other invested players.

As a writer, I am blessed to be in an industry with creative types who love to join together. In fact, it would be unheard of to publish a book without the help and input from an entire team. It takes editors and designers to do their magic. It involves getting feedback and input from valued colleagues, friends and family. At the end of the day, it takes a large group of invested people to bring a book to life. When launching the book out into the world, there is a deep sense of satisfaction in knowing you have a whole team behind you who genuinely wants to see it do well.

I experience a similar feeling of satisfaction from a job well done in my home life. There are regular tasks and projects around the house my family completes together. The one that stands out the most, is keeping my car clean. Our family vehicle gets a lot of use. It is used to get my kids and their friends to and from school and activities. Both of my sons play hockey, so we spend a fair amount of time in the car traveling to games and practices. I also use my car to complete the many tasks and errands it takes to run our household. With all of this use, it doesn’t take much for my car to become a disheveled mess.

Over this past year, we all do our part to keep the car clean and this teamwork has made our rides way more enjoyable. There is the daily clean-up, which involves me ensuring all of the bags, bits and pieces have been removed from the car and put in their proper places. Then there is the deep cleaning. For my birthday, my sons gave me a year’s worth of car cleaning (inside and out). Each week, they get out the vacuum and cleaning supplies and they clean the car from top to bottom.

The best part of this gift is how it has helped my boys be fully invested in riding in a clean vehicle. They are proud of their work and they get just as much satisfaction from being in a tidy car as I do. Those first few rides when the car is particularly clean, I am sure to thank them and they love pointing out how…

--

--

Emily Madill
Wellthy Living

Author & ICF Certified Coach (ACC)• BA in Business & Psychology.• Thrive Global editor-at-large•Author of 11 books•Coach at BetterUp•WWW.WEEKLYHAPPINESSNOTE.COM