Why I’m Loving the Lazy Parenting Days of Summer

Nicole Obre
Wellthy Living
Published in
3 min readJul 3, 2017
Image licensed from Shutterstock.com

Ah, sweet summer. The perfect time of year to really embrace a free-range parenting approach. The weather is fine, my schedule is loose, and the outdoor adventures are plentiful.

My daughter could happily spend day after day sucking on freezies in the sunshine — and who am I kidding? So could I : )

Here’s my top 10 list of reasons to love the lazy parenting days of summer:

1. Socks are optional

Shorts, t-shirts, and sun dresses all summer long, baby.

2. Fruit for breakfast, lunch, and dinner

It’s healthy, it’s refreshing, and it’s delicious. I’m not kidding when I say I could exist solely on watermelon for the next two months.

3. Post dinner play time

What’s that? We’re finished dinner, but the sun is still shining? Heck yes we’re heading back outside! Whether it’s a hangout in the backyard, a visit to the park, or a walk around the block, I love having a fun way to fill the gap between dinner and bedtime.

4. Camping

Forest adventures, cozy tents, campfire stories, and s’mores. Enough said.

5. Beach days

Setting up near a cool lake, river, or ocean is the perfect way to spend a sunny day. My daughter digs in the sand and splashes in the water while I get a chance to soak up a few summer rays.

6. Backyard lounging

We don’t have an overly impressive backyard, or a wide selection of outdoor toys. But we do have a kiddie pool, an endless supply of bubbles to be blown, and several comfy lawn chairs. It turns out, that’s all we need.

7. Outdoor art

Sidewalk chalk, outdoor painting, and sand castles. No clean up from Mom required!

8. Less TV time

During the cold winter months and the rainy days of spring, it’s hard not to rely on a little bit of TV time to keep kids occupied. But with so many outdoor summertime activities? The TV hardly gets touched.

9. Park play dates

Play dates at the park are my favourite. Everyone’s on common ground, no toys needed, and there’s always less tears when everyone leaves at the same time.

10. Summer BBQs

No babysitters needed for a kid-friendly barbecue. It’s the perfect way to get together with friends, enjoy some classic summer food, and let the little ones run wild while the grown-ups socialize.

Originally published at wellthyliving.ca on July 3, 2017.

Share the Wellthy Living love!

If you like what you read — be sure to click recommend❤️ below.

For more recipes for awesome, follow us on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, and Pinterest!

--

--

Nicole Obre
Wellthy Living

My life revolves around one crazy toddler and two even crazier dogs. Oh, and sometimes I write.