Why I fled Iran and what I found in Germany

Solomon
WeNarrate
Published in
3 min readJan 23, 2017
© Nadir Noori

Differences between Iran and Germany

If we compare the culture, politics, economy and social justice in Iran and Germany, we’ll find out that there are too many differences. Concerning culture in Iran, the state is the major obstacle to society’s progress. The last few centuries, the state spends huge amounts of money to legitimize and enforce tradition and culture in people’s lives, a fact that in itself causes many inequalities in the society.

For example, female students are instructed and encouraged to start wearing hijabs and also prohibited from dancing even in kindergarten. Dance training is strictly forbidden in kindergartens and the punishment for it is severe. There are homeless people on the streets and alleys who don’t have any right to housing. Child labor is a very common phenomenon for low income families.

Iran’s economy is one of the strongest in Asia but the state revenue is being spent on the military and on religious monuments. Germany spends on the welfare of its people, free social security, the environment and people’s needs. The lack of press freedom in Iran leads thousands of people in jail every year. Any article, caricature or work that criticizes the state, will be penalized and prohibited from publication. Investing in Iran is free only for pro-government people, political parties, the military and those who grease palms. In Germany, whoever is talented and creative can potentially make money, since everyone is given equal investment and business opportunities.

Justice and political action in Iran is limited, but in Germany there is justice and the freedom of political action is guaranteed. People can express themselves and criticize whatever they want, unobstructed. Gender inequality is the greatest obstacle to the progress of society. Women can’t easily get in the parliament, their access to employment and their choice in clothing is limited. In several cases, women have attacked or threatened with acid. In Germany, gender equality at all levels, –political, economic and social– is very satisfactory. The state and the law act for gender equality. In Iran, women have no social or work security. That was why I had to leave Iran on Saturday (05/21/2015).

The reason I fled from Iran

I was being watched by the Mahabad’s security service because of the May demonstration for Farinaz Khosravani’s death, 3/2/2013. I met Farinaz in May 8, 2012 when we joined the Red Cross. Soon, the Red Cross asked us to do some volunteer work with unaccompanied minors in the city of Mahabad. The children had an immediate need for private English and computer lessons, held three days a week. Farinaz and I got to know each other and we became very good friends. After some time our work with unaccompanied minors finished and we decided to find another job. Because I did not find anything responding to my education, I began working in a hair salon.

At that time, on Sunday, May 3, 2015, I found out about the Farinaz’s death. An officer was going to rape her, and Farinaz jumped to her death from the fourth floor in order to avoid it. I was the one who informed my friends and together we organized a protest march. Because I was the coordinator-organizer of this protest, the police singled me out and monitored me. I was forced to leave Iran. After a difficult and long journey I arrived in Germany on 12/16/2015.

My own flight was the reason my comrades were exonerated and all the offenses were charged to me. During my stay in Germany, I realized that this was another world. There is a huge difference between Germany and my country. It is a developed culture which allows free action and provides political and social security.

Written by a Kurdish Refugee Girl who now lives in Germany

photo credits: Nadir Noori

Find more articles like this at wesolomon.com

--

--

Solomon
WeNarrate

We are a non profit media collective comprised of people with diverse backgrounds that aims to social change by creating new habits.