Day 17 — Describe The Color of Sky Before A Storm Coming

Wendy Chang 張雅鈞✈️
Wendy in Redwhiteslippers
2 min readMar 31, 2018

A storm blew your uncle’s house and his 6-year-old soon died.

It was a sunny afternoon. The sky was so blue without any cloud. But around 2 o’clock, some clouds started gathering. By 4 pm, the sky turned to tangerine mixed with tiger and red. It was not totally full of these colors. Near the zenith was yellow and than tangerine, orange, and near the horizon was red. So elegant, so beautiful. It was like swallowing you in.

Ten minutes later, dark clouds came, and it quickly turned all black. The storm was strong and blew away my uncle’s house. It was not the saddest thing. My little 6-year-old cousin was blown away and fell down to the ground. With the sky getting clearer again, I saw my little cousin seemed to walk into heaven with the bright light in the sunset.

OK, this one was extremely difficult for me since I had no idea what the English names of some colors are. I could have definitely done better in Chinese. No doubt. But it is also a chance for me to look up the words I wanted to use. A chance to learn. And I guess this was why I wanted to do this project in the first place.

The “Wendy’s 642 Things to Write About “ project is a writing plan based on 642 Things to Write About by the San Francisco Writers’ Grotto. If you are interested in this series, please clap or leave a comment. All the articles in this project is free. But if you want to read my own perspective or stories in my country, Taiwan, here are the latest ones: Why do Chinese Have Two Names? & The Difficulties of Being a Taiwanese in 21th

--

--

Wendy Chang 張雅鈞✈️
Wendy in Redwhiteslippers

左手寫媒體寫公關,右手點戲點電影,翻譯遊走語言間,紅白拖要不停走。Writer, translator, and polyglot. PR and communication professional. Twitter: @wendychang1114