Day 11 — Tell A Stranger Your Good Family Tradition

Wendy Chang 張雅鈞✈️
Wendy in Redwhiteslippers
2 min readMar 25, 2018

There are a lot of tradition in my family, (Hearing this, who dares to marry me?) One of the most interesting ones is that don’t lie in the bed before you take shower. It is more like a habit than a tradition but my family members all follow the rule.

Once you get up and leave the bed in the morning, change your cloth, and go out, even if you come back home, you don’t get into the bed without taking a bath or shower. The bed should be a “sacred” place. You can’t even sit on it with the clothes that you’ve worn outsides. Why? To keep it clean. This is a place for rest and sleep. Everything must be extremely clean.

My sister takes it more serious than I do. If I want to take a nap, I will take a quick shower and put on my pajama (or just forget about the shower part). She insists you can only lie or sit on it until you are going to sleep. It may sound strange or crazy for other people. My ex-boyfriend once thought it troublesome but then he took it. So next time, if you have chance to visit my house (who does?) DON’T SIT ON MY BED.

The “Wendy’s 642 Things to Write About “ project is a self writing plan based on 642 Things to Write About by the San Francisco Writers’ Grotto. If you are interested in this series, please clap or leave a comment. All the articles in this project is free. But if you want to read my own perspective or stories in my country, Taiwan, here are the latest ones: The Difficulties of Being a Taiwanese in 21th

--

--

Wendy Chang 張雅鈞✈️
Wendy in Redwhiteslippers

左手寫媒體寫公關,右手點戲點電影,翻譯遊走語言間,紅白拖要不停走。Writer, translator, and polyglot. PR and communication professional. Twitter: @wendychang1114