✍️ Day 28 — Something Caustic That People Have Said to You

Wendy Chang 張雅鈞✈️
Wendy in Redwhiteslippers
2 min readApr 12, 2018
Photo by Nicolas Hoizey on Unsplash

I don’t think you live hard enough.

These were the words that I got when I went to the interview of internship in Womany, Taiwanese media for female issue. The person who said this is their founder.

It may not sound harsh or serious for some people and I am sure that she wouldn’t expect this sentence would wound me a lot.

The reason why I felt hurt and though it was very caustic is I thought I have lived hard every day. I tried hard to experience everything in my life and document them down. And yet, I received this comment after an one-hour interview.

Perhaps I was just not a perfect choice for their website. Maybe I am not “feminism” enough. Maybe I didn’t got the ability to describe or write down the feeling or thinking behind every event. I was not sure about that.

However, these words have enabled me to work harder and live harder. I know I don’t have to live in other’s expectation. But if the words can make me stop and review my life path, there must be something value in it.

The “Wendy’s 642 Things to Write About “ project is a self writing plan based on 642 Things to Write About by the San Francisco Writers’ Grotto. If you are interested in this series, please clap or leave a comment. All the articles in this project is free. But if you want to read my own perspective or stories in my country, Taiwan, here are the latest ones: The Difficulties of Being a Taiwanese in 21th

--

--

Wendy Chang 張雅鈞✈️
Wendy in Redwhiteslippers

左手寫媒體寫公關,右手點戲點電影,翻譯遊走語言間,紅白拖要不停走。Writer, translator, and polyglot. PR and communication professional. Twitter: @wendychang1114