Effect

Is my work good or bad?

Jordan Julien
We’re the Same

--

Do you know the real effect of your work? What about the stuff you say, the perception you have of the world? Do you think about who, or what, may be impacted by the decisions you make, or the things you believe? Part of my job is to help figure out the impact of changes to a product. For instance, if I’m engaged to reduce cart-abandonment rate for an ecommerce website; I might make several recommendations to reduce cart-abandonment rate, but will also help evaluate the impact of those recommendations beyond merely cart-abandonment.

Helping Rob Ford Find Crack

Helping seems like a noble cause. We all have different perspectives regarding what it takes to live day-to-day, and why we choose to help people. Not all help is created equal though. A few years ago I had the opportunity to work on a major tobacco brand, helping the company market itself as loudly as possible, while complying with all regulations. I chose not to help them. Although there are some organizations unworthy of help, I don’t think we should be measured by the things we avoid, but for the things we do.

If I don’t work with anyone, I can be assured I’m not working with someone with bad intentions, but what good will I do by myself? Since life is risk, I know I’ll never be able to avoid working with bad guys entirely; but choose to seek out good guys and help them achieve their goals. If bad guys trick me into doing business with them, they’ve taken advantage of a good guy.

This week, I’ve been working on developing some organizational guidelines for seeking out new business. I’ve founded a new business, and before we have our hard launch; I want to develop a vision that will govern the types of people my company will work with. I’ve seen dozens of organizations succeed or fail based on one or two ‘big account wins’. I hope working with people who want to do good things will translate into actual good things.

--

--

Jordan Julien
We’re the Same

Freelance Experience Strategist -- Worked with these brands: BMW, Coke, Telus, Dove, Canadian Tire, Microsoft, Cineplex, VISA, Toyota, GE, P&G, HP, Gillette