Six Months in South America

Katie Lotz
WYCO
Published in
6 min readJul 27, 2017

Hey friends! My name is Katie Lotz, and I’m one of the We Roam Orion trip program leads! I thought I’d drop a note to share a little of my story on world travel and to give you some inside scoop on all of the upcoming adventures ahead with We Roam!

So here goes… Asia and I have had a long time long-distance relationship. Upon my first visit in 2010, I instantly fell in love. And for the next five years, all of my time spent out of my home country (USA) was spent there. From backpacking Southeast Asia, to studying abroad for a semester in China, to living in China for a year, to various side trips, and multiple two-week work scouting trips across the region… I couldn’t get enough of the languages, unique cultures, food, bright colors and humidity, and the happiness I felt when I was there exploring.

So it was a bit strange for me last year in 2016 when I didn’t go to Asia. At all. Asia and I were taking a break. It was the first year in six years that I didn’t cross the globe to visit the Far East, and at first I was a bit hesitant about my decision. I had chosen instead to go to Peru for a two-week trip, and while I was excited, I also felt a bit nervous. South America was a whole new ballgame for me. I had grown comfortable with Asia. I knew Asia and how to navigate that lifestyle. I’d practiced traveling there and was getting close to perfecting it. But South America? This was going to be unknown territory. I didn’t know what to expect or if I’d even like it as much.

Looking back, I cannot believe I even entertained the idea that I wouldn’t like South America. Peru blew every expectation I had out of the park and I fell so in love with and intrigued by South America that I went back again in the fall of 2016 to test out a new destination, Colombia. After that second trip, it was official: Asia was my first love and I knew I’d always love it (how could you not?), but South America became my new fling that was always surprising me and full of mystery.

This is why I am so excited to be returning to South America for six straight months on the We Roam Orion itinerary! That’s right, six months of living the remote work dream with this incredible crew…

In these kickass places…

Santiago, Chile

Buenos Aires, Argentina

Florianopolis, Brazil

Lima, Peru

Medellín, Colombia

Mexico City, Mexico (admittedly, this is technically Central America)

Six months to live in my new favorite continent… Six months to experience these countries and their cultures… Six months of summer… Six months of epic side trips and excursions… Six months to step up my Spanish game and work to get as fluent as possible…

Six months to live in my new favorite continent.
South America is a huge place with 12 countries and three major territories. The six countries Orion is stopping in are jam-packed with opportunities for exploration, and with South America there are always unexpected surprises along the way that make adventures even more epic. It’s extremely difficult to be bored in South America.

Six months to experience these countries and their unique culture.
While South America is one continent, it is surely not one country, and it should never be assumed that if you’ve been to one place in South America you’ve been to them all. Every country is different and each city in each country has it’s own idiosyncrasies as well. For example, Lima, Peru’s biggest city, has a much more urban, cosmopolitan vibe compared to volcano-surrounded Arequipa, the second biggest city in the country, but both are worth visiting.

Six months of summer.
Insert praise hands emoji + smiley face with sunglasses emoji!

Six months of epic side trips and excursions.
The cities Orion will be living in are going to be amazing, but the possible side trips and excursions that can be done from those cities are bucket-listers. A few that I am most excited for:

· Side trip to Valpariso and incredible hiking in Chile
· Patagonia from the Chile or Argentina side!
· Wine valleys and wine tastings outside Buenos Aires, plus attending a tango show in the city
· Surfing and getting more in touch with nature and getting out of a big city when in Floripa
· Dining at some of the best restaurants in Lima (Maido was one of my favorites last visit for Japanese-Peruvian fusion), trekking in the mountains, and possibly visiting the amazon rainforest
· Outdoor adventures in and outside Medellin such as rafting and hiking, plus the music scene!
· The street food of Mexico City, as well as side trips to San Miguel de Allende and camping at Tolantongo!

Six months to step up my Spanish game and try to really get as fluent as possible.
I love languages and one of my favorite aspects of traveling is being able to speak the language of the country I am in. That’s been tricky in Czech besides a few “Dekujus” (Thank you) and “Dobry Dens” (Good Morning) here and there, and in Serbia, Croatia and Morocco, I imagine it will be similar.

But six months of one language is a goldmine, keeping in mind the slight differences of dialects in each country. “Practice makes perfect” is a phrase that I feel holds the most truth when relating to learning a new language, because language is all about practice. When you don’t regularly practice using a language, you begin to forget it. It’s just the way it goes. I may not remember how to say “Good morning” in Czech by the end of Orion, but after six months straight of being in a Spanish-speaking environment I should not only be able to say “Good morning” in Spanish, but explain to you for about 15 minutes why I think it is a good morning, what I did last night, and what I think about the weather, my breakfast, and what my plans are for the day.

South America, it’s been a few months since our last affair and I’m beyond excited to start our next fling in Santiago, Chile, this New Year’s Eve.

Want to join me? We Roam’s itineraries are flexible and allow you to join at any time. You too can spend an epic six months (+/-) in South America! Check out we-roam.com!

SUBMIT AN APPLICATION! One of our team members will be in touch!

--

--

Katie Lotz
WYCO
Writer for

We Roam — Orion Program Lead & Operations