We’re Done With Normal

Michaela Murray
WYCO
Published in
4 min readJan 8, 2018

I woke up with some fire in me this morning. A little sass. And it had been noted. Perhaps it was momentum from making some stellar points in an argument with my sister the night before. It could have been that political youtube clip I watched that got me riled up. Maybe it was just me feelin’ myself. Whatever it was, the sass was with me, and wanted some airtime.

I’ve always been a little feisty, which had been less than appreciated by my parents. But over time I learned to restrain it slightly, so that this part of my personality often only manifested as a soliloquy in my own mind. And I guess this has been to my benefit; being able to pick my audience with more trusted judgement. It has however always been a kind of ‘nuisance’ trait that I would consciously have to manage. So, its understandable then, that for a long time, I hadn’t attributed much appreciation to it, until recently.

I was dancing at the WYCO Welcome Party in Hanoi, surrounded by smart, talented, creative, interesting members, all of whom were here on the trip to do shit differently. While I looked around the room sentimentally at these people who I had come to know, it became evident that all these people had fire in them too. They had held up a pretty finger to convention and said ‘sayonara’. It was something we all had in common. This was the first time it had dawned on me that perhaps my very presence in that room had been due to that sass that I had previously perceived as a liability or hinderance.

Stepping out of a comfort zone is uncomfortable. We leave behind the ease and consistency of familiarity. But ask anyone who with their fire took steps to find out what’s on the other side of ‘normal’, and they will tell you that this journey never really ends. That’s where we find ourselves … looking for something more. Looking for new experiences, friends, purpose in an off-road terrain. Finding our wyld.

Why Wyld with a ‘y’? Because we’re curious people; because we are different. Wyld with a ‘y’ because why the _____ not?

Doing what we do — exploring the uncharted professional dimensions, creating a long-lasting network of open-minded people, living as modern day explorers who can’t get enough of what this world has to offer — requires fire. It requires questioning the basic preconceived notions about work and life that we are led to believe. And we are doing it together with a determination that won’t be tamed.

#FindYourWyld with us this month, whether it be a first-time experience, a new project, or a new way of working, we want to see the interesting, funny or inspirational ways you will challenge yourself. Take pics that capture these moments and throw them up on Instagram with the hashtag #FindYourWyld so that we can follow your journey away from convention and into the wyld.

Follow along and join in on Instagram and Twitter with hashtag: #findyourwyld

--

--