Know Your “Why?”: Why I Exercise

Wes Henderson
Work. Jump. Humility.
5 min readJan 15, 2019

I just wrote a post regarding my 5 rules for the “new you.” But an important aspect of getting to that “new you” is understanding why you’re doing it.

My profession has led me to deal with a number of start-up companies. When start-ups are developing their business plan, one of, if not the most important thing to know is exactly why they’re pursuing this venture. What problem are you solving?

So why not ask this question of our self?

Reflection

I’m adjusting to my new work schedule since my last promotion. I went from working 7–4 to 9–6. I’m naturally an early riser, so this has been a bit of an adjustment.

I’ve been experimenting with the idea of exercising before and after work. For some, exercising isn’t a necessity in their day-to-day schedule. For me, it’s been that way as long as I can remember so it’s important to me that I get it figured out.

I ultimately decided that morning is far better. I feel energized, and I get it “over with” and can go on with the rest of my day. However, this morning I woke up a half-hour before my 5:30 AM alarm feeling quite a bit less than 100%. It was 5:00 AM and the latest I could get up and make it to work on time was 8:00 AM — we’re talking another three hours of precious sleep.

I reached over to my phone, turned off my sleep app alarm, set a separate timer for ~3 hours and closed my eyes. A few minutes later… I’m up. My workout clothes are on, I’m lacing up my shoes, saying goodbye to my dog, and I’m in my truck gym bound.

What the hell happened?

I was contemplating this as I was driving to the gym, and for the life of me I couldn’t put my finger on it. In my mind I was quite content in getting another few hours and perhaps hitting the gym after work. But no… something deep inside of me grabbed my ass out of bed, threw me in the truck, and set autopilot to sweat city. Why?

Why I Want to Know

Having some insight into who you are can be a valuable tool in evaluating exactly why you make decisions, and knowing what’s best for your personal well being. I’ve come to this realization while working in management positions and interacting with all kinds of different personalities. I’m constantly evaluating exactly why people say certain things, make certain decisions, or act the way they do. Empathy. I focus on empathy to reach people in order to make conversations as productive as possible.

Yet if I am practicing this outwardly, it’d be best to also do this inwardly.

Narrowing Down My “Why?”

So I’m sitting at the gym about half way through my workout, and continue thinking about this. Usually my mind is clear, yet this idea continues turning on the hamster wheel that is my brain. The gym is damn near empty, so perhaps the sane people are laying in bed or eating breakfast, or whatever. Yet it’s a little after 6AM and I’m drenched in sweat — unmotivated by outside parties, solely on my own accord.

At this point in my life, I never thought to think of the why. The first time I was introduced to weight training was by my Dad at the age of 14. My initial motivation then was clear. I wanted to be bigger and stronger for baseball and the ladies. I believe these reasons got me in the door to fitness, but could this really be enough persistent motivation? No way. I believe it’s actual selfishness.

Basically, I’m Selfish

I’m selfish in a sense that I’m conscious of my limitations in life. I would never consider myself the strongest, the healthiest, or most athletic, but damned if I’m not going to try to be. I also believe that fitness is an essential ingredient to my mental health. I’ve spent longer than average in academia, resulting in having a juris doctorate, and at working long hours, being one of if not the youngest director at my current place of employment. I don’t believe either of which would have been possible if not for exercising.

So yes… I’m selfish.

I’m selfish in a sense that I want to live a long and prosperous life. The men on my paternal side have dealt with their fair deal of health issues. My grandfather passed in his 50s, and the idea of middle age being in my 20s is frightening. We don’t all get to choose when we go, but I’ll do whatever I can to postpone the inevitable.

I’m selfish in a sense that I want alone time. I’ve always read about the idea of meditation, and thought that it was never for me. However, I believe that when I’m in the gym is when I enter a meditative state. It’s a time in which I reflect on things such as this topic, or just clear my head completely with only the sounds of a podcast or music ringing inside.

Top of Tiger Cave Temple — Krabi, Thailand — 1,237 steps

I’m selfish because I want nothing to hold me back from experiences. I recently returned from an amazing trip to Thailand that included a lot of physical activity. We rock climbed a rope to a viewpoint on Railay Beach, hiked up another viewpoint on Phi Phi Island, and the most physically demanding was a 1,237 step trek to the top of Tiger Cave Temple in Krabi. I couldn’t imagine to have not witnessed this amazing view in person. Yet, I later spoke with someone who did miss out. Physical limitations on this person only allowed them to make it halfway before ultimately deciding to abandon. I couldn’t imagine…

I’m selfish in sense that I want to be dependable. I want to be relied upon to pick up and move heavy things without the aid of others. Just this past weekend I moved a large cooler and a grill off a boat onto Boca Chita Key down here in South Florida. I don’t think twice about things like that. It’s simple, and I’m capable.

I’m selfish in a sense that I want to be able to help myself in order to help others. When I was around the age of 16, my family and I were in a boating accident. While out on the Mississippi river our boat engine had made contact with some debris and went out. We were stuck relying on the trolling motor, which was far from sufficient to handle the current of the Mighty Mississippi. The current took our boat, and slammed it against the front of a barge, which did not have the appropriate lookout. There was no quick way to get to us, so all the barge workers could do was toss down a rope for us to climb up. The boat continued to slowly creep under, and I can’t imagine what would of happened if I wasn’t able to climb that rope.

This idea has also led me to experience things like jujitsu, muy thai, and boxing.

Find Your Selfish Reasons

It’s of my own opinion that whatever your reason being, it should be tied to some sort of selfishness. Exercising to appease others is a recipe for failure. Remember that its only you spending countless hours in the gym, pursuing a greater sense of health, confidence, and longevity. It’s just you.

--

--

Wes Henderson
Work. Jump. Humility.

Work smarter. Jump at Opportunities. Humility above all.