My Experience on the Carnivore Diet

Wes Henderson
Work. Jump. Humility.
5 min readJun 8, 2018

The following has improved: energy, fat loss, muscle gain, everything…

DISCLAIMER: This by no means is backed by scientific studies. Although I studied Biochemistry as an undergrad, I performed zero research into the effects my body has undergone beyond my own superficial feelings.

My Nutritional Evolution

I’ve been a bit of a health nut as long as I remember. I started lifting as soon as my Dad allowed it, about the age of 13 or so, and played collegiate baseball. However, being young with a revved metabolism I never took notice of my diet. It wasn’t until life after baseball, and lack of regimented exercise that I noticed I began developing what Chris Farley would call, “a bit of a weight problem.” I stand about 6'0", 205. Was up in the 250s.

I noticed I didn’t have the metabolism I used to, and began heavily scrutinizing my diet. It was the basic macros of mixing veggies, meats, breads. I’d be glad to never see chicken breast, brown rice, and broccoli again. I kept this up for a number of years. I’d constantly fall off the wagon, while still maintaining my work out schedule, and then back on. Repeating this cycle, much like a majority of dieters have.

I hated it, which is why I couldn’t keep on it. The search began for alternatives.

The Jump to Keto

Keto, pardon my French, is a pain in the ass. It’s a high fat diet, where you adapt your body to run on ketones rather than your glycogen stores. Therefore, your body will target fat as it’s fuel source rather than carbs. Many people love it and have seen great results from this diet. I did as well, but I was never one to measure my ketones, as the keto extremists do (performed through testing strips). One sniff of bread may knock you out of ketosis (my exaggeration).

As soon as I cut out the carbs, I dropped fat quickly. I was putting sticks of butter in my coffee, putting coconut oil on everything, and had avocados for just about every meal. The issue was the diet was inconvenient, and I didn’t enjoy it. I could not find enough variety or convenient foods to meet the high fat requirements (about 70% of your daily calories).

So I did what seems quite a few keto-nuts do. Bring on the steak…

All Your Steaks Are Belong to Us

I’ve always had an affinity to red meat. I learned in my genetics class while testing my own blood that I have a bit of an iron deficiency. A good source of iron? USDA Grade A Beef. Hence, the cravings… (listen to your body).

I thought I’d just cut out the fats (from outside meat sources) and veggies and just try it without any knowledge of anyone else doing the same. Then after a month, Dr. Shawn Baker appeared on the Joe Rogan podcast. He’s an M.D. doing extraordinary things (setting world records on machine rowers), and attributing all to his carnivore diet. I’ll admit that listening to this was a session of confirmation bias, but a validation from others is always good.

Since then, I’ve heard a number of people doing the same. Including an acquaintance of mine with in depth information regarding the diet. You can find it here: https://meat.health/

What I’ve experienced

I have a job where I need to be operating at nearly 100% at all times. It’s not a physical job, rather intellectual. I’m constantly analyzing and scrutinizing contracts, data, business processes, etc. It’s not to the level I was while working at a law firm, but I still operate in as similar a matter as possible.

When coming into work before carnivore, I couldn’t function properly without breakfast. Now — no breakfast. This was a completely unconscious decision. I’m just not hungry when I’ve eaten a healthy serving of beef the night before. This also leads into the inadvertent intermittent fasting. I can usually stretch having my first meal anywhere from 1–2PM, and then my second meal to about 6 or 7PM. This gives me a small window to eat. I don’t enforce it, it just happens that way. Sometimes I’ll even only eat once.

When on my other diets it was 3 meals a day, with 3 snacks in between. I was always thinking about when my next meal would be. I’d also spend an exorbitant amount of money on nutritional supplements. Now, I get 100% of my protein from animal products, and I spend zero dollars on supplements.

Lastly, no more afternoon nap. I’m just not tired. I’m usually up at about 6AM, work until about 5 or so, and either head to the gym or jiu jitsu. Before, I’d need an extra hit of coffee about 2PM, or take that incredible afternoon slumber when I got home. I just don’t need it. This relates to the idea that Turkey is the reason for the post-Thanksgiving nap. Really? How about all of those carbs in the form of stuffing, casserole, and biscuits you stuffed your face with. Crash!

My Prep

Sundays are usually grilling day. I head to BJ’s, a local farm-to-market store, or Publix (I live in Miami and love Publix — just don’t stare the fried chicken in the eye. It’s delicious and not nutritious). Then it’s throw the meat on the grill, fill up my tupper ware and I’m good to go.

Meat. It’s what’s for [lunch and dinner].

Road Warrior

I’ve been on the road quite a bit as of late, which could make things a bit difficult. However, I have a go to. Beautiful, red-headed, fresh and never frozen Wendy’s.

“5 Double Stacks, just meat and cheese in one container.” If you don’t say that, you’ll get 5 containers.

Execution

I am far form a strict carnivore. I thoroughly enjoy an adult beverage or two, as well as an entire pizza. However, I remain on the diet roughly 90% of the time.

Again, I’ve always advised whether it’s your diet or your exercise routine, is to make it pleasurable. If you’re not enjoying it, then you will end up failing.

Now time to have a steak with a side of… steak.

--

--

Wes Henderson
Work. Jump. Humility.

Work smarter. Jump at Opportunities. Humility above all.