How to Be a Creator in the Age of Information Overload

Joan Westenberg
The Realist
Published in
5 min readMar 6, 2024

--

My access to information is staggering. It’s almost smothering. With the click of a button or a simple voice command, I can instantly tap into the collective knowledge of humanity. Ancient history. Cutting-edge scientific research. Classic literature. The latest viral memes. The wealth of human knowledge is quite literally at my fingertips.

For creators who are trying, bleeding and sacrificing to create something new and original, this information abundance is both a blessing and a damn curse. In a world where everything has already been said, done, and remixed a thousand times over, how can any of us hope to contribute anything of value?

The answer, I believe, is embracing the abundance that seems to stand in our way. Rather than seeing the vast amount of existing information as a barrier to creativity, I’m trying to learn as much as I can, and to view it as an endless source of inspiration and raw material from which to craft something new.

I’m drawn to the idea that the key to creating in the age of information abundance is to become a skilled curator. With so much content available, the ability to sift through the noise and identify the most relevant, compelling, and thought-provoking ideas becomes invaluable.

--

--