Photo by Lalaina Rackson

If you want to be yourself, don’t try to be perfect!

Lalaina Rackson
We, The Authentic Generation
4 min readJul 19, 2021

--

PERFECT
adjective
per·​fect | \ ˈpər-fikt \

One of the definitions of the word “perfect” is “being entirely without fault or defect”.

In order for something or someone to be considered as perfect, this thing or person needs to be absolutely without any flaws or faults or defects.

Although it is now possible to mass-produce objects that are all identical and without flaws, such as phones (even though a few of them might turn out defective coming out of the factory), the same cannot be said about human beings.

There is not one person on this earth that was born without flaws.

There is not one person on this earth that was born perfect.

And even though that is the truth, it is in man’s nature to still believe that they are perfect even when they are flawed.

Imagine your defective phone snapping at you and telling you “I don’t know what you’re talking about! Look at me! I am beautiful, brand new, yes sure my home button doesn’t work and I lied about this app being compatible with me but overall, I’m perfectly perfect!”

Well isn’t this what we all have said at some point in our lives?

--

--