About Growing Up, Write The Future Told Me That I Can’t Stay Regret Forever

Trian
whyslackers
Published in
3 min readJan 18, 2017

Wohooo! Earlier this week, Write The Future finally shared the brand new awesome track ‘Write You Off’ for the upcoming and long-anticipated debut full-length, Changing Pace.

While details of the album are being kept in the dark, I’ve listened to the track over and over and I loved it, great music. It’s madly personal affair, sure, talking about the anxiety of growing up.

Then I have these random thoughts. For some people who live in western hemisphere, winter in January might force you to nest inside your home after cruising crazy holiday. But there is something more about the time, you eventually would reflect your last whole year, asking frequently “what have I done to my life?” “did I pretty much fuck up?” You got haunted by those thoughts while figuring out how to get through this current year.

The band didn’t bring the snowfall or freezing days to me but its reflection moment is very relevant. In fact, ‘Write You Off’ pretty much set my moody day. It feels like they told me to take a step back reflecting something melancholy or questioning on why do we human being always tend to get worried about complicated and unchangeable things?! Fyi, I just recalled those wrong directions and decisions I took in the past. Fucking helll!

Let’s cut the shit about me, this song is not all sad and bad days reminder though. Write The Future are just trying to help. In the end, these five pieces pop-punk outfit who put the breakthrough EP Bury My Trace Someone Will Take My Place in back 2014 also tap into the path of maturity and acceptance effort. “Try to hold a grip than mourning over guilt//Get over it!,” says the band with the nerve.

I would say it’s recommended for people who always thought Real Friends or The Story So Far couldn’t make you see the most obvious and important things; life fucking goes on and you can’t stay angry and regret forever.

Lyrics:

Regret
Stories i’ve been dying to get over
Remenisce incompetence
Of what i should have done
And i erase every line
On every pages i wrote down
Try to make it new again
But all of those can’t be undone
And i said to myself
Somethings once you do
Can’t never be undone
So i just write it off, write you off

You are mistake i desperately made
And i am tragedy you won’t ever be
I wish you won’t be

What’s left behind me will just be memory
Remind me who i used to be
I know it’s heavy the weight you carry
But i believe that you will be just fine

I’ve been dying to get over
Remeniscing tragedy
Prolonging anxiety
Try to hold a grip than mourning over guilt
Get over it

Writing another page
Things i’m about to face
I’m burying my own trace
It’s only memory

--

--