--

Kaloyan Todorov

When he was little, Kaloyan Todorov wanted to work in a lab, mixing chemicals in test tubes and conducting different scientific experiments. His dream job was to be a mad scientist. Now he dreams of being the CEO of his own company.

Kaloyan is an ambitious young man who gets motivated with every achievement, both in his community and school work. He is persistent in his activities and does not let any obstacles bring him down.

“What motivates me is the satisfaction of what I do and the results I receive from it,” he shares.

Kaloyan is a first-year student at the American University in Bulgaria (AUBG) majoring in Business Administration. He chose AUBG not only for the opportunity to have two international diplomas for four years, but also for the resources not found in any other university in Bulgaria.

“We have the biggest English library in the Balkans after all. Not everyone can say that about their university,” he adds.

Coming to AUBG was an unexpected but appreciated opportunity for Kaloyan. He had never before been outside of his home town Sevlievo, a north-central Bulgaria city. A couple of his older friends already attending the university encouraged him to visit the open house event in AUBG in 2019. The chance to see a much-needed higher education facility and to get out of his own city made him take the spontaneous decision to visit Blagoevgrad.

“Every time my friends told me about the university I was very curious. And I’ve always listened with such interest. And when I first arrived, it wasn’t something I wanted that bad. But I remember how excited I was that I’m stepping here and how impressed I was because I have never seen anything like AUBG before,” he shares regarding his visit. “I came, I loved it and I said to myself. ‘This is it. I am coming to this university,’ and here I am.”

He is currently enrolled in two university clubs, The Hub, an IT and Innovation club, and StartUP, a club that gathers entrepreneurs and young ambitious students who want to start their own business. He is also a member of the NGO Rotaract Club Blagoevgrad, whose mission is to improve the society via humanitarian and volunteer programs involving young and adult individuals between the ages of 18 and 30.

Kaloyan wishes to be remembered for the enthusiasm with which he approaches his work. He devotes more time and attention to his extracurricular activities, which he feels have a significant impact on the community. He wants to demonstrate that it is possible to excel in school while still contributing to the greater welfare of society.

One quality he believes that everyone should have is selflessness.

“All of us in the world, everywhere, live in a community. This community wouldn’t advance if everyone looked only at their own plate and didn’t in any way contribute or help their neighbor or friend. And that is why I think selflessness is needed.”

###

The article and interview were conducted by Blagovesta Skerleva, a student at The American University in Bulgaria majoring in Journalism and Mass Communications.

--

--