How do I work with a content writer? Understand the Roles Content Writers Play

Acllank
wgu labs lxd team
Published in
4 min readSep 9, 2021

Hi! I’m Angela. I’m a content writer who works with the LXDs at WGU Labs. I’m taking over the LXD blog for a minute to share a series of posts to offer new and experienced designers tips on getting the most out of your work with a writer.

Let’s say that you just got a job as a designer at a new company. On your first project, your manager introduces you to the team you’ll work with — this team includes a content writer. Given your design background, you’re probably well versed in working with stakeholders, engineers, and users. But you may be wondering:

How do I work with a content writer?

In this post, I’ll explain three typical roles I play as a content writer at WGU Labs. Understanding these roles can help you see the many capabilities and talents writers have that can ultimately help you improve your design.

Role #1: The Supporter

If you need a content writer to be your supporter, you might come to us and say: “I’ve got an idea, and I need you to bring the words to life (aka — HELP! Please write this thing for me. I know that writing isn’t my strength, or I’m so swamped with other tasks, I can’t do the writing myself).” After sharing your vision with us, we know that you’re handing over all writing duties on this project to us. We’ll choose how to write and present the text. Of course we will ask you questions to clarify or brainstorm with you when we get stuck throughout the project. Then, after it’s written, you will review what we’ve written to see if it matches your vision.

Role #2: The Collaborator

If you need a content writer to be your collaborator, you might come to us and say: “I’ve run out of ideas! I can’t get started! or I’m stuck on a design! Let’s work together to figure it out.” Like designers, writers practice a form of design thinking as well. We spend a lot of time thinking about how to clearly explain things to our audience (aka your users). If you include us in your brainstorming session, we can offer advice not only about the words, but also give you insights about where the user might get lost in the designs. Collaborating allows us to gain a clearer sense of your vision, making it easier to write the text together with you or by ourselves.

Role #3: The Editor

If you need a content writer to be your editor, you might come to us and say: “I wrote a thing, but I want to make sure I’m getting the right message across. Can you please review it for me?” In this situation, you will do the writing and then pass the piece over to us for editing. There are two main types of editing that we do:

  • Copy Edit: looking at the small stuff like grammar, punctuation, word choice, sentence structure
  • Substantive: looking at the big picture, like overall flow, messaging, removing, moving, or adding paragraphs

When you ask a writer to edit what you’ve written, make sure to be clear about the type of editing you’re looking for. Otherwise, we may go crazy editing the whole thing, haha (sorry!). Of course if we see a big issue with the messaging, we’ll let you know.

What if you don’t know what role you need us to play at the start of a project?

This actually happens more than you think. I mean, no one can 100% know the type of support or how long it will take them to write a thing until they’re in the middle of it. Once you recognize the struggle, don’t be afraid to ask for help. You can pull us in at any point of the project to provide you with support. However, remember that the later you pull us in, communication is key to completing the project successfully.

To Make this Work, We’ve Gotta Trust and Communicate

Ultimately, whenever you bring a writer onto a project, a good working relationship requires trust and good communication. While it’s true that you may have learned to write in school, it may not have been your main focus of study. Many content writers have devoted much of their lives to learning the craft of writing, not just in school, but outside of it as well. So trust us! Remember that we’re here to help and support you.

Check out our wgu blog to learn more about the projects our full wgu labs team is working on, and to hear from our amazing researchers and interviews with our leadership.

--

--