Why I Work at Labs: Brian Tillman, Senior Learning Experience Designer

Brian Tillman
wgu labs lxd team
Published in
3 min readOct 20, 2021

Hello! My name is Brian Tillman I am one of the Senior Learning Experience Designers at WGU Labs. I have been with labs for over 3 years. I am a huge UX design nerd with a passion for product management and learning science. Creating my own User Experience Degree program at the University of Utah was my first exposure to the learning design process and led me to ultimately pursue the Learning Experience Designer position at WGU Labs. I want to share a few things that make working for WGU Labs a great experience.

Holistic Experience of the Design Process

WGU Labs is the perfect place for a designer that wants it all. UX design, product management, research, leadership, job growth, you name it you’ll use it. As designers at WGU labs, we truly own the design process and the user experience design process is at the heart of every project. WGU labs has always supported my goals as a professional and allowed me countless opportunities to learn new skills.

Being a designer at WGU labs is a great experience for those that want something new everyday. We are involved in every step of the design process from idea validation and research to product design and development. I love the fast paced environment and the support from the fellow designers.

Supportive and relaxed work culture

Another reason I have spent over 3 years at WGU Labs is the culture and people. We have a very laid back positive environment. The management is very transparent about the goals of the company and really values every employee’s feedback. With a flexible work in office and work at home schedule it allows me to separate collaboration and focus time. The working environment at Labs could not be better.

Value in the experiences created

During my career at WGU Labs I have had the opportunity to work on 6 different products, all requiring different skills. My first product was a coaching program for students at WGU Academy to build non-academic skills that will lead them to be more successful during their degree program. I especially loved this project because I worked so closely with the students and saw first hand how the products we build at labs changes students’ lives.

My time at Labs has been filled with amazing projects, life long friendships, and amazing career growth. The most important aspect to me is upholding our mission “Improving student outcomes” because when it comes down to it as a designer, helping people is what it is all about.

If you are interested in joining WGU Labs and potentially becoming my new best friend, check out the links to our job opportunities below.

About Labs

WGU Labs invents, builds, and enables innovative education products and offerings that multiply the effects of WGU’s mission to have a transformative impact on higher education: to expand access, improve quality, and optimize student outcomes. Click here to visit our webpage to learn more about our team, the projects we’re working on, and our expanding list of partners.

Work with Us!

You can check out our open positions here. We’d love for you to join us!

--

--