Pneumonia, my Nanny and why your whānau should know about WhareHauora.nz

Hiria Te Rangi
Whare Hauora
Published in
2 min readDec 7, 2017

This talk is a hard one, hard enough that although I’ve presented it twice, in front of a about 50 C-levels, and posted the video on my social media, garnered feedback and talked to many people, I still get weepy whenever I talk about it. But thats exactly why I have to keep going….

Its not polished, it’s a bit raw but I think you’ll forgive me, I will get better.

This video is from a recent talk I did as part of the Emerging Technology series for the Service Integration team at the Department of Internal Affairs (DIA), in partnership with the Ministry for Social Development (MSD).

Here is the article for all of the speakers
https://webtoolkit.govt.nz/blog/2017/12/emerging-tech-measurement/

Background
When I was 11 years old, I was awarded a scholarship to attend secondary school. This was no mean feat, considering I was a “River rat”, the tongue in cheek nickname for kids that grow up, rurally on the Whanganui River.

And this is how I came to be raised by my Grandparents, in Ascot Park, Porirua, attending Aotea College. I think my mum knew that I needed whānau around me, that I needed the guidance and love. I know now, that I was too introverted at the time to be able to navigate the school yard politics of boarding school and at the time I honestly thought my parents didn’t want me. Now I know, they were really giving me the gift of my Grandparents.

Haere atu ra, taku ngākau,
kei te mamae ahau,
kei te tangi ahau,
kei te mahi ahau,
mō āke tonū atu.

--

--

Hiria Te Rangi
Whare Hauora

I am hilariousness, wrapped up in an engima, surrounded by excitement, sucked in by Glad wrap to keep in the freshness.