The Truth Hurts

Eddy Wild
What a Tangled Web We Weave
2 min readJan 18, 2015

Why lie? Why make excuses and be dishonest? Well, sometimes, the truth hurts and people need to be shaded from it to preserve innocence. But, can a lie be taken too far?

When I was little, I, like many other kids, were told lies by our parents to shadow us from the truth. How fun was it on Christmas Eve to wait restlessly in my bed and excited for what I would get the following day. Images of games, action figures, and legos flashed in my head while trying to sleep. Later in life, I learned the truth that there wasn’t such thing as Santa Claus. Was I angry that I was lied to, yes. Was I happy to have the memories of being excited for a Christmas morning, yes. Even though I was lied to, I was blissfully oblivious.

To lie is to care. Parents lie because they care about us. They want to shield us from the harsh realities of life, only showing us positivity for a lot of our lives until you are forced to grow up. Growing up is essential, and necessary to live a life, and no one can live without it.

I knew my parents were lying about Santa Claus when I was like 8. I rationalized the argument about Santa Claus existing, and thought I knew the truth. I tried questioning my parents about it, but they dodged the questions and lied to me, to try to protect and almost bubble me from outside thoughts.

Do I believe this made me lie more or less, no. I believe it is my choice whether to lie or not, and that the amount of times my parents have lied to me is irrelevant. I have no idea how many times I was lied to in my life, but I would like to think if they did lie, they had good reason to, and not just because they were chronic liars. Everything they did was for a reason, and was done for my own good.

--

--