You lied. I Know.

Kiersten Sanok
What a Tangled Web We Weave
3 min readJan 14, 2015

--

I know what you think I don’t and you continue to lie to my face. Surprise, I've been where you have.

Lying isn't as simple as a made up story. Instead you have deceived the person you are telling. For whatever reason the lie you decided to tell shows you don’t have enough faith in the person. You don’t believe they can handle the consequences and the truth like you supposedly could. The lie all of a sudden is better than the truth. Lying is a broad topic but you just personally offend and betray that person. All of a sudden you risk the anger and feelings of one person because you don’t think they are good enough to handle what is really happening.

Lying is a very big deal in my family. Not for the reason I’m always lying and my parents are sick of it. For the reason I just stated. My dad takes lying so personally. My parents are my best friends. You may think I’m sucking up or some kind of loser but they really are. Wake up everyone, they were in our shoes once before, they aren’t in the slightest bit stupid. How could I lie to the people that know what to do and can actually help me, it’s just hard to. Yet I’m a hypocrite and can’t take my own advice. Why do we all lie? I do because I feel like I’d disappoint them. They talk to me about shaky subjects and tell how scenarios would go and give me top line advice but I don’t always listen then I lie about it. They were willing enough to open up to me and share their knowledge to protect me. But I get curious, do stupid things, regret it and lie. It’s a vicious cycle, when in fact I have a greater potential hurting them by lying then not listening and being honest. It’s not like they told me no and I betrayed them. They gave me wise advice and if I can’t learn from them and feel compelled to mess it up myself then why can’t I own up to it.

We all say “our kid will never lie to us” or that “I’ll raise them better”. It’s almost an insult to your parents and a set of expectations that will further let you down. Your kid will lie and props to them if they do it well but your job is to make sure they aren’t like you. Or better so, change yourself so they can strive to be like you.

I have a lie that claws at me way too often. And I know my parents know about it. My mom has always said to me that she writes down every lie of mine and when I’m 30 she will show me. One of the worst things is knowing someone knows you lied. And you could only wonder which ones they know and don’t. They eat you from the instead out and tear you apart. Yet it’s worth the stress and betrayal to all of us who lie. It just leads to further destruction to your mind until we are made up of lies.

Find what drives you to lie, to deceive your parents, to disappoint ones you love and have this constant nagging lie weighing you down. Wonder if it’s worth it. To get things behind to books or to get what you want with less stress. I don’t think there’s much debate though.

--

--