How we can end poverty together.

Austen Comstock
What are the steps?
3 min readMar 18, 2021

Many people are affected on daily basis by poverty. My good friend Michael has experienced poverty first hand. I have had the opportunity of being able to interview him and learn about his experiences, along with if he believes poverty can truly end. I asked Michael a series of questions related to his time that he spent in poverty.

“How difficult was your time in poverty?”.

Michael: “It was truly unbearable. Every morning I would wake up wondering how I would overcome this, wondering what would happen to me today. Every day was like this. I had to wonder if today was going to be my last day. A lot of people don’t know this but, poverty is not just living poor, it is living everyday wondering if you are going to make it to the next day or if someone is thinking about you, or if someone can help you”.

“How did you overcome poverty and make it out?”

Michael: “Fortunately for me, I had someone looking out for me. My old coworker Sue. She had lent a hand to me. She took me in and truly helped me turn my life around. She provided me with 3 meals a day, clean clothes, and a place to live. Sue used to volunteer at her local church and homeless shelter. When Sue found out what I was going through, she didn’t hesitate at all to help me out. Sue eventually even helped me find a well-paying job. Thanks to Sue, I am still at that job today making great money and living a great life. I truly believe Sue is an angel that was sent to save my life. I owe everything to Sue”.

“Do you believe that poverty can ever be eliminated?”

Michael: “You know, that is a very hard question to answer. I don’t believe that poverty will ever get eliminated. I think that no matter what, there will always be individuals who are suffering through poverty. I do believe that poverty can be managed to a certain extent. I believe that extreme poverty can be decreased. By decreasing extreme poverty, it will provide hope for those who are struggling through poverty. I believe that once extreme poverty is controlled, then poverty as a whole can be decreased”.

“Finally, what do you believe is the first step to decreasing poverty?”

Michael: “I believe that the first step to decreasing poverty is, creating jobs for everyone. By creating jobs for everyone, it will provide a job to those affected by poverty. I believe that getting a job and getting a steady source of income, can really help decrease poverty numbers”.

Michael really helped me illustrate the steps required to decrease poverty. Michael also gave us an understanding of what it is like to be affected by poverty. Poverty can be decreased. In order to do this, it is going to take all of us to work together. By working together, it will help provide hope and a solution to those in need.

https://econofact.org/poverty-reduction-and-economic-growth

--

--

Austen Comstock
What are the steps?
0 Followers
Editor for

Hello, my name is Austen Comstock. I am a student at University at Buffalo. I am researching the topic of what are the steps to eliminating poverty