FISH LOVERS, I am just giving out my hate!

Abhro S Roy
What_D_Fish
Published in
2 min readJan 8, 2018

Being born in a Bengali family, and brought up amongst the Odia culture, I really do wonder, what exactly it is in a fish, that is so enormously tempting that makes us hunt down those harmless creatures and fill ones stomach.

But, gradually growing up, I realized it was not to fill one’s stomach, but to lure the human tongue. It is after all, all about its taste.

Just look at those innocent dead bodies !!{(Paradeep beach) P.C- Disha Das}

No doubt Odias and Bengalis are diehard fisheterians .While bongs go to the extent of considering Fishes as not-really-a-non-veg dish, and use it at times in Poojor Bhog, the Odias do not remain too behind with drying up dead fish(yes, I am talking about Sukhua.) and storing them for longer period for uninterrupted annual supply I guess.

One cannot really imagine how frustrating my life would be. After all, I love fishes; I adore them, but only the living ones. How wonderful, cute and blissful the earth is with them!!

Yes, I am a bong, and I HATE FISH. (Stop stereotyping!)

I cannot explain you the reason, as there are trillions of those. I have consumed, every form of fish available in south eastern India with every kind of curry that can be made out of them , but none can decoy me into loving it. All of my family members and friends go crazy over making me love cooked fish, but I guess, I have some meta-physical issues, and cannot really enjoy it in any form.

I am not the one, who would vomit over the smell, or get irritated with it, because, as all of you might guess, I was force-fed fish for quite a time, and I see fish being bought from market, cooked and consumed almost every other day in my life. So, by this time I am quite immune to any disgust I should feel for them. I really do enjoy the fish gravy, unless it has got the fish meat mixed/messed up with it. Because I hate it so much, but I confront it so much as well, I guess I have ended up knowing a hell lot about it.

I hate fish (the dead ones), So, I decided to give out my hate. How ?

I decide to give out to you all I know about the dead piles of these adorable creatures .I hope they are alluring tips which will inform you more about fishes and some specialty (stupidity!) of them in the Bengo-Odia (if that is even a word!!) culture.

--

--