30 Days of Sobriety

@jessajansen
What I Am Saying
Published in
4 min readJan 24, 2020

--

Photo Credit: Bloominash

I reached 30 days of sobriety and felt surprised, followed by self gratitude at this minor, but significant accomplishment. 2018 was the last time I went a month and longer sober, and even then, the reasoning was different, I was different. Sobriety for me was something foreign to me, and later it became something I needed to do to break free from other addictions, for my health, and now it is because I am choosing to be it: sober. Sobriety is new to me, exciting, and with each day that passes, it is an added level of greatness in my day.

I have gradually learned more about the effects alcohol has on the body and what I gain, even with each day that passes that I am sober.

Did you know that several studies say that it takes just three weeks to break a habit? Research published in 2018 in the British Medical Journal found that just a month off alcohol:

1. Lowers blood pressure
2. Lowers cholesterol
3. Reduces diabetes risk
4. Reduces levels of cancer-related proteins in the blood

Giving up alcohol for even a month begins to have a dramatic effect on your body. While there is much talk about the impact of drinking on physical health, research shows that reducing your drinking can have enormous benefits for your mental health and wellbeing. Regular drinking can lead to depression and can worsen symptoms of other mental illnesses, so by taking a break; you are setting yourself up for a happier, healthier 2020 (2).

The longer you spend alcohol-free, the more the benefits accumulate. Even drinking a little less can have a beneficial effect. Dry January, Sober Spring, and other goal-oriented programs can be a great way of helping you to cut down long-term. The first-ever extensive study of the health benefits of abstemious periods like Dry January also discovered alcohol is linked to cancer-related proteins in the blood, and taking time off from drinking can drastically reduce their levels. The finding could help explain why alcohol is linked to at least seven types of cancer (1).

What is Gained?

1. Better moods
2. More energy
3. Restful sleep
3. Clear-headed mornings
4. Lower resting heart rate
5. Reduction in acid reflux
6. More time
7. Better health
8. Less anxiety
9. True relaxation

Not to mention, better relationships, self-love, happier family life, and the freedom to fully participate in life. For me, the amount of time and energy I have gained has changed my life. I can set goals for my day or longer in advance, knowing I will accomplish them. Time is on my side now, and I have found I have more of it now to do things that help better myself even more.

My language surrounding alcohol has changed. The internal voice that once provoked me to want solitude time with wine, for example, has shifted into desiring a cup of tea. It was the thought of changing those habits that worried me until I did have a more pleasant experience sitting with a cup of tea rather than a glass of wine.

It is not only sobriety that I am looking to achieve but new habits, like better nutrition and a fitness regime. This July, I am finally able to take part in the Peachtree Road Race, a famous race in Atlanta that takes place each year. This year, I will be a participant instead of a spectator on the sidelines. My determination to improve my body both internally and externally is another level to what I hope to accomplish this year within my sobriety.

I think the phrase ”sober is sexy” helped boost the change in me.

I have endured a recent long battle of not feeling strong or sexy until I decided to eliminate alcohol from my life and then started getting my sexy back! I have felt in sync with my body, my confidence has risen, and my mind is working in overtime. I have been saying, “I have changed” to those around me, and I have!

References:
(1) Coghlan, Andy. “Doing Dry January Lowers Cancer-Promoting Proteins in Your Blood.” New Scientist, 9 May 2018, www.newscientist.com/article/2168508-doing-dry-january-lowers-cancer-promoting-proteins-in-your-blood/#ixzz6Bwpt8KIB.

(2) Coghlan, Andy. “Doing Dry January Lowers Cancer-Promoting Proteins in Your Blood.” New Scientist, 9 May 2018, www.newscientist.com/article/2168508-doing-dry-january-lowers-cancer-promoting-proteins-in-your-blood/#ixzz6Bwpt8KIB.

— JLJ @thisdamsel

--

--

@jessajansen
What I Am Saying

Being a Mom is who I am, and writing and painting is what I do!