Simplicity matters or why I still love BackboneJS

Laurynas Ragauskas
1 min readMay 28, 2013

--

I am graduating (hopefully) from my University and for my final paper I have chosen to make a comparision of Javascript frameworks dedicated for SPA. The subjects of comparision were Angular, EmberJS, BackboneJS and Knockout (I dropped the last one later as it looked odd :) ).

The “technical” aspects of the comparision were left to be decided while i was coding a sample test app. Criteria contained things like routing, data-binding, templating, even the size of the community (git hub branches and favs) and a few more. Every point of criteria was given a weight which shows how important particular criteria is.

After a week of coding and grinding over the documentations and blog posts I finally realised why I am so in love with BackboneJS - it is very simple to use! Even though heavy weight fighters like EmberJS or Angular gives you a lot of features like bidirectional data binding, or super cool route management system I always prefered to invent some wheels (at least some small ones) on my own. For a better understanding of my own code. Nobody likes magic.

A bad framework is the one which forces you to search through SO even for the TODO app.

--

--