48 Hour Hypothesis Testing and Results

I got home late Sunday night Oct 23rd. I had spent the night before sleeping on the floor in the Gwinn Commons at Seattle Pacific University where I was taking part in Code for the Kingdom 2016 Global Hackathon.

Monday morning the 24th I was catching up on email and found one that had been sent the 22nd from the experimental incubator I am taking part in. They were giving away Free Passes to the Annual Leanstartup Conference in SF.

To qualify for best prize, a Gold Pass to the event and possible airfare you had to have submitted a approved hypothesis, tested it, and shared about your results on Medium by the 26th. So here we are now at my attempt to do that in 48 hours.

My hypothesis was “I believe that 30 people of those I interview will vote for 1 of 3 charities to receive funding in the beta campaign at www.WeThinkItMatters.com by October 31st. I need $200 dollars for gas and eats during the interview period.”

Since I was in a time crunch to interview people and have results before the 26th to have a chance for the Golden Ticket. I setup a survey page here http://www.wethinkitmatters.com/what-matters-to-you.html and shared it.

Facebook Post

The question the survey page asked people the following questions:

What is the most important issue in society to address?

What other causes or issues do you also care about?

What actions have you or would you be willing to take to support the causes?

What organizations do you follow working to solve it?

Would you follow a new organization if you learned about it?
YES
MAYBE
NO

Would you do any of the following things online to support the cause?
Cast a vote
Share a story
Take a survey
Watch a video

Are you interested in hearing about the results of work done in the field?
YES
MAYBE
NO

After completing the survey the person would be taken to this landing page.

WeThinkItMatters.com

And they would receive a thank you email with the subject line and body text:

“Thank you for giving us your opinion!”

Dear Beta Tester,

Thank you for taking our survey. We appreciate your feedback!

Take the next step and vote for 1 of 3 charities to get funding from the first WTIM campaign below.

Click here to vote and make a difference!

8 people have finished the survey since I shared it. Of those eight, six of them said they would do the following things online; Cast a vote, Share a story, Take a survey, and Watch a video. Yet of those 8 none have voted so far.

I believed that far more than 8 people would complete the survey, and out of those that at least 30 would take the next step and vote for a charity to receive funding from the beta WTIM campaign.

As usual my assumptions were wrong. Even when presented with two opportunities (Call 2 Actions) after completing the survey no one is taking action yet.

I am not sure how to interrupt people saying that they would cast a vote in the survey, but then not do it when presented the opportunity. At this time my thought is that since the call 2 action didn't have to do specifically with the issues or causes they said were important to them in the survey they did not take action.

I will continue to run this test and try to get a larger number of people to complete the survey. And reach out to the ones that have, but did not vote afterwards to ask them why.

As mentioned earlier my reason for reporting the results today, Wednesday Oct 26th was to qualify for a chance to win a pass and airfare to the LeanStartup Conference in SF so I can learn from some leaders in startups.

If you would like to help get me there HEART (recommend) this article.

:) and take the survey http://www.wethinkitmatters.com/what-matters-to-you.html and then vote for 1 of 3 non-profits helping to end homelessness in the NW http://www.wethinkitmatters.com/bridgeworksnwbeta.html

THANK YOU!!!

--

--