Signs of Learning — Experiment #3 with MilValChal

--

My name is Adam McGarity and I am the CEO of The Language Finder(Twitter: @languagefinder). The link to my original Trello hypothesis card is here. I am part of an experimental incubator that gives startups and entrepreneurs funding in exchange for testing and sharing Lean Startup hypotheses. Adam Berk helped me run this experiment with funding and mentorship.

After a conversation with Adam Berk, we decided to focus on a 2-day push for this experiment. The modified hypothesis is “I believe that if I post flyers advertising “English Conversation , Corrections, and Advice, and someone is immediately available to chat in person, at least 10 people will pay $6 for the service.” I aim to complete this experiment by March 26.” I was testing the assumption that pain felt by English learners is 1) A lack of face-to-face interaction with native speakers, and 2) Clear explanation and instruction about the less standardized parts of the English language: colloquial speech, idioms, pronunciation patterns, and rhythm.

So, here’s an update of the past two days….

Logistics

Created and Printed 60 flyers asking people to text me for “Fast English Practice NOW”

I posted 8 flyers IVO where I was working at any given time:

  • 2 on a university community board
  • 1 on a public posting wall on the street
  • 1 in a hostel kitchen
  • 1 in a grocery store
  • 2 in a coffee shop
  • 2 on flyer kiosks around the university

I also created laminated signs to display in person:

  • 1st iteration — “Speak English like an American! Ask me how!”
  • 2nd iteration — “Want to speak fluent English? Ask me how I teach.”
  • I also had a laminated picture of my audio correction/advice tool to show people as I talked to them.
  • I spent 1.5 hours on the bus with a sign displayed
  • I spent 2.5 hours walking busy streets and the farmers’ market around UW displaying a sign
  • I spent 1.5 hours riding the train, and in train stations displaying my sign.

It’s not strictly within the scope of this experiment, but I emailed 7 people from my last experiment asking them to forward an intro email and video to 3 people each about this way of teaching. One has replied and agreed to do that.

Setbacks/Failures

Flyers

  • I was denied permission to post flyers at 4 coffee shops and 2 libraries (they only accept non-profit and community event postings).
  • University of Washington was closed for Spring Break (no libraries or public buildings open where bulletin boards are located).
  • Seattle Central Community College was open, but a ghost town because of Spring Break.
  • On Friday, I spent more time designing, printing and looking for good places to post than I actually spent posting flyers. I got frustrated with this, and switched to mostly displaying signs in person on Saturday

Signs

  • At one coffee shop, the owner shut me down for trying to advertise myself (sign on a table).
  • My first sign said “Speak English Like and American! Ask me how!” ….While I was walking around, this was misinterpreted 3 times as immigrant hate, so I made a different sign. “Want to speak fluent English? Ask me how I teach…”

Successes

Flyers

  • None

Signs

  • On Saturday, I talked to three English learners, and explained what I’m doing
  • 2 Saudi guys asked for my number to set up English lessons (no call yet)
  • 1 Congolese guy let me record him. I sent him feedback and a request for payment if he wants more instruction.

Learnings so far

There aren’t many relevant places to post flyers for services. I thought each coffee shop would have something like that, but many bulletin boards are strictly reserved for non-profits and community events. And they’re often in places not likely to get much attention — back hallways and obscure corners. And the ones that are available are often very crowded. So I’m seriously doubting the value of flyers on bulletin boards at this point.

Walking around with a sign seems to get lots of eyeballs, but not as much engagement as I’d like.

Since I’m testing the assumption that customers want face-to-face interaction, it shouldn’t surprise me if it turns out that the best channel for getting their attention is face-to-face. The question is, will I always have to initiate that conversation, or is there some way to get them to initiate it?

I’m open to advice and feedback for next weekend (Fri./Sat.) when I’ll be able to devote blocks of time to testing my hypothesis again.

--

--