What If: Mental Health Rolling Fund

Stephen Hays
What If Ventures
Published in
7 min readAug 7, 2020

--

Hi, I’m Stephen. I’m the founder of What If Ventures.

Addiction and mental illness almost took my life in 2018. In 2020, I launched an AngelList syndicate to back mental health startups. Since January, I’ve backed 6 mental health startups, deploying over $3,200,000 into the space, supporting startups that are touching more than 3,000,000 lives. I’m just getting started.

Now, What If Ventures, is live as a rolling fund on AngelList.

Investors, want to join our deal distribution email list? Just let us know here, and we will reach out .

Founders — need help building your mental health startup? Check out the What If Fellowship (an 8 week company building program) here.

About Me

I’m a West Point trained leader with an MBA from Vanderbilt. I spent 7 years as an investment banker before launching my first venture vehicle (captive family office fund) in 2015. I made 25 investments from that vehicle, but in 2018 I ended up in rehab for addiction.

While I was in rehab, getting sober for the first time in 20 years, I was diagnosed with bipolar disorder. When I got out of rehab I wondered if I was the only person like this. It turns out, I’m not alone, in fact there are incredible entrepreneurs trying to build solutions to help people…

--

--

Stephen Hays
What If Ventures

Stephen Hays, Founder of What If Ventures www.whatif.vc a mental health focused venture capital fund and host of the Stigma Podcast.