Being Different

How thinking differently impacts our lives

Shubhangi Narayan
What Is Love To You?
3 min readMar 6, 2023

--

Picture by S. Narayan

Somewhere I read a line about how people suspect anything or anyone that falls outside the boundaries of their custom. And it did help me learn and analyze a lot of things that usually happen around me.

Me being myself around people had always seemed like a very unexpected art, to say the least, which I guess has always made people awkward around me, and me around them. I always believed that I am simply very different or kind of weird, and could be seen as amusing at best. I had always thought people were uncomfortable around me and I have to bulldozer my way to make space for me in their life.

But after reading this specific line I understand why people might not be comfortable and why I felt, what I felt around them (which was suffocating and claustrophobic, like the walls are closing on me). This is all because; my ways of thinking and beliefs fall beyond how people normally think and behave. It’s not that I am the only one who thinks in a certain way. No, it’s more like, people think that it’s an unusual way of thinking so they usually ignore it.

But one thing you must know about me is that I am not good at ignoring things and need to know the reasons behind them. Excuses like “it is how things are”, “that’s how things work” or “this is how they are always being” are not good enough for me. I always need to know the actual reason behind, why things are the way it is. I can’t live my life accepting things and beliefs without any questions or reasons.

Just because others had never questioned popular beliefs, nevertheless asked about it before, doesn’t mean we all have to accept those beliefs too. If something raises a question in our mind, that we know others don’t have answers to, then we must find answers ourselves, rather than accepting everything. Even if when one might get labeled as different. I always believe one can’t find answers if you don’t question things. It’s like in the poem The Road Not Taken by Robert Frost, where you question, whether one should take the path which everyone took, or should take the path which is not taken usually, and be curious about what new things they might find there.

So, if the question arises, is it okay to choose differently and be weird? then my answer is hell yes!!! Because some days being weird and choosing differently, makes you who you are and lead you to be your own person, which makes all the difference. And that’s one hell of a reason to live for. So be yourself and ask questions rather than settle for what is been said to you. Because if you only follow the herd, you may never find your own unexpected destinations.

PS- Do share your opinions and follow for more.

--

--

Shubhangi Narayan
What Is Love To You?

A Reader, Reviewer, and a Content Writer . Refer me if you like my writing style.