Francesca

Inspired by Hozier’s song ‘Francesca’

eidolonsstuff
What Is Love To You?
3 min readAug 13, 2024

--

Photo by Cornea Lucian on Unsplash

The gallows coldly stare me down.
Its wooden steps whimper in pain under my feet.
My shackles clink a merry hymn as I walk.
I centre myself behind the executioner’s block,
Stood before a hive of anticipatory onlookers.

As I look out before me,
I see the eyes of persecution.
Their stare sharpens the executioner’s blade.

I hear the crowd’s whispers:
“What a harlot!”,
“Tarnishing a good man’s powerful name for her own twisted gain!”,
“A seductress that can’t be trusted!”,
“Burn, she must!”

I feel my shallow breath fleeing me,
My heart begs to be free from its confinement.
My eyes scan the crowd behind hazy tears.
“All of these people have come to see you die”
I snap my eyes shut before the tears fall.

Trapped in an arc alone,
I bob through the waters of my own thoughts.
I question how I guided myself to such an end,
How I strayed so far from the comfort of light.

In the chill air,
My vessel leads me to him.
He waves to me from an island.
I pray for my vessel to meet him.

The waters guide me slowly to him.
I wish to leap from the water to get to him sooner.

Not 10m from the island,
do I jump out and wade through the shallow waters to him.
He meets me halfway,
Catching me in his arms.

The warmth of his embrace,
The soft rise and fall of his chest.
I hear the comforting patter of his heart beat.
I submit myself wholly to him,
Allowing my devotion to stray not from him.

He lifts my chin to meet his eyes,
He smiles with such care.
He scans my eyes,
Reading my thoughts,
“There is no Eden without you” he whispers.
“I love you” he smiles.
I tighten my arms around him.

I let out a steady breath.
I open my eyes,
Greeting the crowd’s condemning gaze.
I step forward to recite my gospel.

“Look upon me with contempt.
Condemn me with your words.
Throw your stones.
You claim me to be a sinner.
Yet you repent your sins with a cursed tongue.”

“I am a sheep, yielding to the slaughter at the hands
of a shepherd who disapproves of strays.”

“What god is yours,
To allow his creation be killed for love
when love is what he preaches.
What people are you,
To follow such hypocrisy.”

“I repent my sins in the name of my lover,
Hoping he will forgive my misdeeds.
For I wish not to act against him.
I love him.”

“If I meet your hell,
I hope to be greeted with open arms.
I hope to burn.
I hope to suffer.
I hope I endure the pain you speak of with disgust.
Only then, having suffered so immensely,
will you believe me when I say,
I would go through this all over again,
just to be with my lover once more.”

--

--

eidolonsstuff
What Is Love To You?

writer with an active imagination (and love for music)