How Do We Know What Happens After Saying Goodbye?

The immeasurable pain of lovers.

Gustavo Guedes Araújo
What Is Love To You?
2 min readDec 21, 2022

--

Photo by Amine Rock Hoovr on Unsplash

It had barely rained all year, yet the sky was falling that April afternoon. Maybe the millions of people in heaven are saddened by our farewell, or it’s just a coincidence that the world’s energy is so bad today.

We’ll see each other again, but uncertainty has taken over my soul, and fear is the protagonist in my mind. After putting my clothes in my backpack, I cried painfully on your shoulders. Always silently, so it takes you a while to notice.

The rain stops, but we take the umbrella just in case. Our cats say goodbye, surprised, as they were not warned. They are sad because, like us, they feel better together.

Finally, we leave, and you accompany me to the bus stop because I’m too scared to be on the street alone. Maybe you don’t understand, but your company is the best security.

The bus arrives, and we give one last hug. I don’t want to let go of you, and I know you don’t want me to go either, but you barely hug me, and you’re gone. Sometimes you look back. I don’t judge you. I know you seek to avoid pain. You are strong, and you know everything’s gonna be okay. I, on the other hand, suffer well before longing arrives.

I get on the bus and sit down to watch the street, the sky, and the chaos. I feel the world’s agony in every tight beat of my heart. The emptiness that the absence of your presence leaves puts me back in reality, and I can’t stand it anymore. Let’s be frank, what I do most is dreaming and thinking, and that’s not what the world wants. I’m terrified. What I need most is to get home and only leave when everything is fine again.

The street is hell itself. If it was just this damn virus, I wouldn’t be like this. I’m used to the protocols. What terrifies me is the human being. Of this virus, I will never know what to expect.

For the time being, I will live with this pity, until the moment when I can return to your arms.

What do you do when missing your beloved one?

--

--