How to Feel Connected and Calm in these Chaotic times

Tyler D
What Is Love To You?
3 min readMay 14, 2022

Do you seek serenity amidst the struggle?

Photo by Sven Vahaja on Unsplash

Where does self-love practice come into play when we are too busy to think? I ask this question as I sit down for a brief moment of peace before suddenly, I am inundated with all the unfinished tasks. I think of another 30 projects before starting my first one. My girlfriend and I just bought a little fixer-upper.

I have more experience in construction than I do in meaningful relationships, so I tend to catch myself being a foreman instead of a companion. Add some stress and lack of communication, and it’s not a pretty sight.

I am a big advocate of taking a moment (alone is my preferred option) to enjoy what I have, who I am, what I’ve done, and what I will do. Even if it’s a five-second closed-eye deep breath, it opens me up, calms me down, and I can refocus my energy.

I’m going to call this savoring that sweet second because you can be thrown back into a harsher reality in the blink of an eye. I can see how this can be a form of escapism if you continue to use it to get away without addressing the problems (which I admirably use sometimes).

The real key is to become so present with every sense of your body, subtle thought of your mind, and every vibration of your environment and take it all in. Try to fill yourself with everything you are experiencing, and then you can let it pass, let it go, breathe out, and feel yourself letting go of everything that feels like pressure.

Holy moly, it is the most incredible skill to sharpen, seriously. Once you successfully attempt to do this (yes, it may take practice, and you will get better), you can maintain a more positive outlook on life, feel more at peace with the day’s chaos, and have better control over your thoughts and feelings. You will be better able to show up in everything you do.

Another practical step in this exercise, as I’m sure you have read countless times, is to write it out.

It is spoken about so much because it is truly transformational. What does the noise in your head keep telling you? Write it out and keep going. Something in your subconscious is trying to send you a message.

I am all about lists. If I have a bajillion things roaming around in my dome, I bust out the paper and pen and go. Then, typically I see that at least half are a time-waster, so I just saved myself headache and effort- already worth the time investment in writing the list. That is time-management 101, and frankly, not my area of expertise.

My area of expertise is trying to enjoy the hell out of your time, which cannot be achieved by worrying about the next task, what you did last week, how you smell, or what the in-laws think of you. Time well spent, in my opinion, always revolves around giving praise to yourself, to others, and what is. That Simple!

I say that, but in reality, I am constantly trying to dissect each conversation, methodology, process, and system. I am an overthinker. But this is why I get so much freaking practice! 2 nanoseconds later, I’m like, “Whoa, buddy! Hey, I said to enjoy the moment!”.

I make it a game that I will continue to play for the rest of my life (unless I become enlightened).

And let me tell you, friend, I have had some earth-shaking, knee-quivering MINUTES of complete silence and stillness that have been life-changing. I believe everyone is capable of this, and my reason for starting these blogs.

“life is too short,” we hear it all the time. Well, it is just right, in my opinion, as long as you go about it trying to embrace every second, every success and heartache, every stressful moment, and each peaceful one.

You will find your cadence and sink into the comfort of your being. (With practice)

Best of luck on your journey, my friend,

Tyler D.

--

--

Tyler D
What Is Love To You?

I am a personal trainer who focuses on strengthening the body AND mind. I like to help people improve their self-image AND self-esteem.