I Defended My Crush and Feared That I Was Overreacting

How do you know if you’ve done the right thing or not?

Sieran Lane
What Is Love To You?
4 min readApr 9, 2023

--

Cute orange fluffy cat hiding in a human’s arms.
Image courtesy of aksenovko on DepositPhotos. Author has standard license to use photo for commercial purposes.

Have you ever had self-doubts after defending someone you care about?

Let me set the stage for you.

My crush posted a photo on Instagram, where he posed with the hockey team he coached. They were celebrating the end of the season.

One commenter asked him, “You play hockey?”

Someone else replied, “Nah. Those who can’t play, teach.”

The first commenter said, “That’s true. And I bet he’s going to say he was a goalie at one point, lol.”

My crush tagged them both and responded, “Bully and heckle. 🙃”

Gee, I couldn’t resist cutting in, “There’s nothing wrong with goalies or coaches, though. :)”

Then I DMed my crush. I said I hoped it wasn’t too weird of me to say that. But I thought they were being mean and I couldn’t help but interject.

I knew that he had a razzing relationship with these guys, but I still thought it was an insensitive thing to say, especially during a time of celebration.

I didn’t want to make him uncomfortable with my outspokenness. But I don’t feel apologetic about it. From what I know, “those…

--

--

Sieran Lane
What Is Love To You?

A queer trans writer and therapist. I help fiction writers complete their novels. Let's connect! https://the-transgender-therapist.ck.page/fiction-writing