I Love My Husband, But Sometimes I Want to Cheat

The seven-year itch

Alex Praytor
What Is Love To You?

--

Photo by Lon Christensen on Unsplash

You get into a routine and a rut. Sometimes, you lose sight of each other behind bills, schedules, jobs, and kids. You need a change, a new perspective. But, would you cheat?

Sometimes I want to be the mistress. I want to be a woman and not a mom. To tame the messy bun and have a man see me in lipstick and makeup. To sit down at a table and be funny over wine.

He’ll dress his best and put on the cologne I love.

We won’t discuss bills, school schedules, or who’s turn it is to wash the dishes. Those topics are off-limits, we’ve left them at home.

Tonight it’s just him and me. Us against the world. Our own secret nighttime tryst in this balcony apartment. We came to meet, talk, and learn more about each other. To kiss and hold hands in secret. No one will know.

I know when he gets off work. He’ll change and come meet me. We don’t always get the chance to see each other like this. But, we’ll take any chance we get.

“I bet the house was a wreck when you got home,” I say slyly.

He shrugs, but he won’t lie to me. “You know how it is with kids,” He tries to defend her.

--

--

Alex Praytor
What Is Love To You?

Writer, traveler, and avid coffee drinker. Originally from Texas, I've made Romania my home for 10+ years. https://ko-fi.com/alexpray