Learned to Love From A Cookie

The tale of a person who fell in love with a Cookie

Karan Kumar
What Is Love To You?
4 min readJan 6, 2024

--

Photo by freestocks on Unsplash

Yes, you read it right. This is the story of a person who fell in love with a Cookie.

Hahaha, yes, Cookie is our family pet.

The Journey From No Pets Allowed to Cookie:

I come from an Indian middle-class family with a somewhat open-minded thought process. However, before Cookie, my mum and dad were against the thought of getting a pet. They used to say

Terko pal to rahe hai 🥲

This means when we have you, why do we need a dog? So, after getting savagely killed by my parents, I decided to drop the thought for a while. But then, a time came when I was going through a very tough phase in my life and I needed a companion (craved for it).

So, finally, I decided to get a dog without telling my family and I surprised them.

And then the love story of Cookie and Karan Kumar unravels.

First Week:

The first week of Cookie

oh, I still remember the first time I saw Cookie it was an instant love.

The first time he put his paw on my hand.

The first time he licked my face.

The first time he barked.

I started feeling like I’d become a parent, and now it’s my responsibility to take care of him, no matter what. People who are reading this and are parents can relate; if your child gets unwell, your heart just drops dead and you get so worried that you start feeling helpless.

That's exactly what happened to me in the first week. He wasn't eating or drinking anything and I got so worried that I started feeling as if I'd made a wrong decision to become a pet parent. But as parents, we can't lose hope. I took him to the vet who wanted to take some blood from Cookie who suddenly started walking towards me giving me a sign that he had accepted me as a parent, which made me happy and emotional at the same time.

I guess that's what happens when love reciprocates

First Night We Slept Together:

I guess now I know how it feels to see your kid sleep :)

I still remember how it happened. Oh, I can't even describe how special and happy it made me feel.

I was done with my dinner and came into my room around 9:30 pm after saying good night to my parents and Cookie. At that time Cookie used to sleep in my parent's room and one day, out of nowhere. Cookie came into my room and I just picked him up onto my bed.

Sleeping beauty

That night, I couldn’t sleep at all due to happiness, and I didn’t want to disturb him. Thinking that he might get disturbed, I just kept gently patting his head, watching him sleep, and wanting to give him as much care and love as I could.

I never thought not sleeping could be this blissful. :)

Present

So, almost after two years now, Cookie has grown into a smart and handsome fellow. 😎

Handsome cookie

And now, after spending two years with Cookie, I've finally learned to love.

To love someone

To care for someone

To be happy

To love selflessly

To love myself

I learned everything from him, and now I just feel so blessed that yes, my choice was right to become a pet parent 🐶.

The way he helped me grow so much brought so much happiness into our home and made me love myself again. :)

I used to think this quote could never be right.

A dog is man’s best friend.

But now I believe it too. :)

So, I guess that's it guys I'll end the blog here now else this blog will turn into a never-ending book. ;p

Few more pics to enjoy. 😊

Blurry Cookie
Let me sleep guys ;p

If you have also fallen in love with Cookie, here’s his Instagram ;p to show your love.

--

--

Karan Kumar
What Is Love To You?

Crazy about snooker, Love Cooking, Passion for Programming and Writing my life 1 word at a time.