Love Without the Pressure of Responsibility

Grandparenting Graciously.

Bernie Pullen
What Is Love To You?
2 min readJan 25, 2022

--

gran holding a baby
Created in Canva

Granny. Nana. Nonna.

Whatever term you use.

I love being a grandparent.

No, I mean, I really love being a grandparent.

I hadn’t always thought this way.

It had been my greatest fear when my daughters were in their late teens. I worried they would become teen mums, and I would be a 40-something-year-old gran left to pick up the pieces. Thankfully, they loved me enough not to put me through that.

Now they are both adults, and I have two grandchildren. One is almost 3 years and the other 6 months.

When I held my firstborn grandchild, she was just a few hours old at the hospital. The emotions I felt were overwhelming.

Love. Unexplained Giddiness. Melting feeling inside.

Different from when I held my children but loved all the same.

Love without the pressure of responsibility.

--

--

Bernie Pullen
What Is Love To You?

Life experiences intrigue me. Parenting| bereavement|memoir,|travel writer. I’m a coffee lover, I keep grounded by walking in nature, Tai Chi, and Yoga.