Masked love?

Jesna Sajan
What Is Love To You?
3 min readFeb 23, 2022

Does love need a mask to be accepted?

Picture from the Author

If I love someone

Should it be only one?

What if I love more

what goes wrong?

A thought ticks me…

Should I love more?

Should I love less?

Is love in litres or volume?

The new fancy of “Just love me, and only me!”

You know, possessiveness? Have we been here before?

Surely, some of us have, some of us are yet to…

Let’s hope you don’t.

There is the labelled love, love for somebody, which cannot go higher or lower. Someone should invent a heart-o-meter and call out the name, check how much the love for such a person exists.

Could it be possible?

Maybe, since we have Artificial Intelligence in place, a couple of legal trouble in plenty on account of such a device.

For now…love is just an emotion. I can feel it, possibly cannot measure it.

If I love someone extra, perhaps a parent, sibling, friend,

Does that make my better half less important?

Picture this…

I see a parent as a mentor, friend, teacher. I have been with this individual for the past twenty-five, thirty-five years, or even more. The bond will be much stronger! How could I forgo it for another individual in one fine morning, who has shared life with me for maybe ten or twenty years more?

Both are integral parts of my life, how could I see one better or lovable than the other?

I see my life partner as a friend, advisor, mother, or father of my children, they too have different life experiences. Can I forgo that bond for another friend who shares almost forty years of acquaintance with me?

Friends are also as important as my better half, but can I love them better than my better half?

See the point, love cannot be measured. Love shall not need judgement. Love is a subjective perspective, a perception that cannot be measured.

Love is not possessive. Love simply loves. It needs no fear, anxiety, jealousy possessiveness. Love cannot be masked. Rather fear, anxiety, jealousy possessiveness are emotions given the masked love perception.

Play with emotions, but accept the fact. Love cannot be measured based on what we judge about others. Whether we love to find pleasure, love is not pleasure. Love is about feeling, experiencing, and expressing love.

When we mask love, the layers peel off by themselves, uncovering what we feel about people. Eventually, that’s when separation and regrets happen, when we try to mask love to feel temporal love.

Choose love. Love without conditions. Love will stay, even if people don’t.

Words cannot always triumph and make us a winner. How we present ourselves in the name of love could also unmask what we truly feel about someone.

I still wonder, can we mask love? Let me know!

Like my stories? You can subscribe here.

Love poetry? Read my poems here

Buy me a coffee here!

Have Twitter? You can find me here.

Are you on Goodreads, join me here as a friend, Let me know what books we could read!

--

--

Jesna Sajan
What Is Love To You?

I am a 40 year old writer of sorts, writes short stories, musings, life, business, seniors, articles. I also design, create content, occassional video content