Micro Love Story: Dancing in the Dark

A five-part series of love stories in 150 words or less for Valentine’s week

Nicola
What Is Love To You?
1 min readFeb 13, 2024

--

Photo by Donny Jiang on Unsplash

Whether it was the crevices of the theater’s backstage or the backseat of his car, our time together was defined by the shadows of secrecy and infatuation. We both didn’t know what we were doing, but we stumbled through it anyway. Because we were young, dumb, and having fun.

The problem was, I liked the thrill of it, but I couldn’t really imagine myself and any future with this guy. Neither did any of my close friends. So whenever a spotlight was directed our way, and I had to navigate questions that I knew the answers to but was afraid to acknowledge, I stepped out of the light instead.

With him, the darkness was comforting. The lights frightened me more than the dark.

--

--

Nicola
What Is Love To You?

Personal essay & short fiction writer. Writing about the ebbs & flows of this one beautiful life. Making space to craft stories and cultivate curiosities. 🧠⚡️