Micro Love Story: I Was a Moon, She Was Jupiter

A five-part series of love stories in 150 words or less for Valentine’s week

Nicola
What Is Love To You?
1 min readFeb 16, 2024

--

Photo by Yousef Espanioly on Unsplash

She came crashing into my life when I least expected it, and we instantly found an undeniable connection. She was charming to a fault, yet seemed oblivious to the mesmerizing effect she had on people. She had a strong hold on my heart, without her knowing, and I desperately tried to hide it to maintain our friendship.

She was the only person who ever made me feel like I wasn’t in control, that I had no choice but to completely surrender. To love, without expecting anything in return.

She was Jupiter, a large ball of energy with a super-charged magnetic force that made her irresistible. And I was but one of her many moons, a tiny speck in the solar system that found itself gravitating toward this singular planet. I was lost in her orbit, and to this day, though I keep my distance, I cannot seem to pull away.

--

--

Nicola
What Is Love To You?

Personal essay & short fiction writer. Writing about the ebbs & flows of this one beautiful life. Making space to craft stories and cultivate curiosities. 🧠⚡️