Micro Love Story: It [Bisexuality] is Complicated

A five-part series of love stories in 150 words or less for Valentine’s week

Nicola
What Is Love To You?
1 min readFeb 14, 2024

--

Photo by Sam McNamara on Unsplash

I spent the better part of the year hanging out in her apartment to get close to her, hoping my crush hadn’t been too obvious. She was in a stable heterosexual relationship. I didn’t have an agenda to steal her from her boyfriend; I just enjoyed staying friends despite how I felt.

But one evening, as the academic year was about to end, she revealed her feelings for me in a text exchange past 1AM — like a bomb had been dropped out of nowhere, information I had not been ready to receive. I was too focused on tempering my crush that I hadn’t noticed the signs of her mutual attraction.

She is happily married now. To the same man she’s been with since we first met.

It’s all for the best. We remain friends.

But sometimes I wonder about an alternate world where we end up together instead.

--

--

Nicola
What Is Love To You?

Personal essay & short fiction writer. Writing about the ebbs & flows of this one beautiful life. Making space to craft stories and cultivate curiosities. 🧠⚡️