My Child Marriage at 25

When I got married, I felt like a kid, even though I was 25.

Niharika Kaur Kakar
What Is Love To You?
2 min readSep 29, 2023

--

Celebrating Togetherness: An Image by the Author

As I walked down the aisle at the age of 25, I couldn’t help but feel like a kid in a candy store — except, in this scenario, the candy was marriage, and the store was the grand adventure of life itself.

The idea of marriage was so overwhelming to me that I started calling it my ‘child marriage,’ which carried the weight of my dreams, hopes, and fears. While some laughed and called me silly, no one truly understood the child in me.

Luckily, my future husband was no different. At 27, he matched my youthful spirit. He made our marriage feel like an exciting new adventure, just like kids starting school. He is as youthful and enthusiastic as I am, and our connection was immediate. With our union, a new chapter began, and it shifted my perspective from the conventional view of marriage to that of a world filled with joy, fun, and deep affection.

People around us often mistook us for a dating couple rather than a married one. This led to amusing situations where we had to explain our marital status by sharing our wedding photos. House hunting added another layer of humour, with some societies denying us entry, saying that bachelors are not allowed. Finally, when our house help called us brother and sister in front of my parents, it left all of us amused.

To this day, the joy of our union continues, and I couldn’t be more grateful for the pure and delightful relationship we share. It’s as if the clock turned back, allowing us to relive the carefree days of our youth, only with the wisdom and maturity that adulthood has brought.

Our friends often marveled at our connection, admiring how we managed to keep the flame burning brightly. It’s a reminder that age is just a number, and the heart knows no boundaries when it comes to love and happiness.

So, here’s to my ‘child marriage’ at 25, a journey filled with love, laughter, and the unwavering belief that growing up doesn’t mean growing old in spirit. It feels as perfect as a key in a lock, and I firmly believe that deep trust and true respect are the main ingredients in this recipe.

Tying the Knot of Marriage: An Image by the Author

--

--