My Husband’s Admirer

Is he trying to steal my husband?

Grace Thomas
What Is Love To You?
4 min readSep 15, 2023

--

My husband is a charming guy. That was the first thing I noticed about him when we first met, besides being tall. So, I was not surprised when he told me someone from his workplace was ‘bothering’ him. What I don’t expect is how determined the other person is given my husband’s status: married.

A guy looking at his competitor by Grace Thomas using Canva

This started a few months back. My husband told me his colleague, Ali, gave him the cold shoulder treatment. Another coworker told my husband that Ali didn’t like it when my husband went to an event with another coworker. It bothers my husband because Ali was great at doing his job. As the Head of Operations, he needed someone reliable for work to run smoothly. To achieve that, he needs everyone to communicate successfully.

The problem was Ali didn’t want to talk to him. He avoided my husband at all costs. He pretended my husband didn’t exist, but I find it funny because my husband is his boss. My husband ignored his behavior though. He said he didn’t want to waste time by solving minute matters. It was hard for him to run things at work but he made it eventually.

At first, I laughed at my husband’s situation. He is a kind person, and I get that people liked that. The thing is, my husband likes to talk about me. Even strangers will know who I am because he talked about me in every conversation he had. There were a few occasions when I just met his acquaintance, and I felt like the other person knew details about me although I hadn’t told them anything. If that didn’t sound like he is madly in love with me (and that he is not available), I don’t know what will. So, why does Ali have the nerve to show his feelings publicly towards my husband?

Last week, my husband cringed at Ali again when he asked him to celebrate my husband’s birthday just them two. He confessed that he wanted my husband’s attention and to become close again like before.

A picture of cake Photo by Nick Stephenson on Unsplash

Close? Again?

A coworker of my husband’s said Ali told everyone that my husband and he had a special bond. But then the same coworker replied to Ali that my husband treats everyone exactly like how Ali was treated.

I did stalk Ali’s TikTok account just to know my husband’s admirer. Looking at his post had me thinking that he must be so lonely and would react instantly to someone who gave him attention. Even his TikTok name was “Brokenhearted”. (FYI, I translated it from another language. So don’t expect to find him in TikTok)

I offered my husband my help if he wanted it. He told me he could handle this by himself, but it would not end up pretty. Ali might end up quitting his job because my husband’s words going to sting. He is trespassing my husband’s comfort zone and has been warned a lot of times.

How do I feel about all this? I know my husband is the straightest man alive, and he has been telling me that he doesn’t want to lose his beautiful family. So, I’m not afraid of cheating. But what I’m shocked about is, how dare Ali think he has the chance to get my husband? The last time I checked my reflection in the mirror, I still looked a-ma-zing. Maybe a little bit plumier at the tummy side but overall, I’m still good.

I am bothered by this situation. Am I jealous? Not really. I know Ali is not my competition. I am only protective of what is mine. I thought having a ring on your finger is a universal sign that means ‘I am not available’. But it seems that some people don’t even bother.

I feel like I should do something, but I respect my husband’s wishes to handle it by himself first. I may not be strong physically so I can break bones, but I do have a big car.

A person driving and may not be focused on the road and might hit someone Photo by why kei on Unsplash

--

--

Grace Thomas
What Is Love To You?

I like to talk to myself, inside the car, while driving. Thus, I think it would be best to share my thoughts with everyone.