My Love For Mochi

I have known this dog for only a week, yet he has now become a huge part of me.

Giovanna White
4 min readDec 29, 2021
Photo by Fritz dela Cruz from Pexels

In August 2021, my family got a dog.

We are made up of typical mum, dad, and 5 children. I am the oldest. I was to commence my new PhD program in mid-August. Earlier that month, my dad had the fantastic idea to get a dog for my younger siblings. Our very first. It took a while for us to choose what kind, as well as to make transportation arrangements for it to arrive. After much deliberation, we settled on a Lhasa Apso, a breed with a gorgeous mop of white and golden fur.

We looked up facts about the dog’s temperament.

“Adaptable,” “Friendly,” “High Energy,” “Territorial.”

These were the most common traits specified by most websites. We thought it was the perfect match for our family.

Mochi was set to arrive one day after I left home to commence my studies. The international flight had already been booked. There was no going back now. I would not be able to see him in puppy form.

Throughout the fall semester, my younger siblings would send me adorable videos of Mochi spinning round and round, chasing his tail. They would tell me tales of how naughty he was. Always soiling the floors around the house instead of going to his designated spot for using the bathroom. They were in the grueling process of potty training him. One of my family friends who lives with us had one of her school notebooks torn to pieces because Mochi was put into timeout after one of his bathroom fiascos.

Yet, underpinning these complaints, was the sensation of exasperated warmth and love. I could hear it in their voices whenever they called. My sisters would send me tons of pictures hugging this beloved dog, with pure glee shining in their faces.

At times, I felt a hint of sadness at having missed those first precious moments when Mochi-kun (As I typically call him in the manner of a beloved Japanese male friend), first arrived. He was so small and cute during that time period…

I was afraid that when I arrived home, Mochi would reject me, shunning this oddly familiar-looking stranger who appeared out of nowhere. As a means of appease, I bought a chew toy gift especially for him on my trip back home for the 2021 Holidays season. I also brought snacks along with me. I wanted Mochi to feel at ease with me around.

The fateful day finally arrived. The day of my return home. I walked into the house, and Mochi leapt at me, bestowing me with puppy kisses everywhere. He came at me like I was a long-lost friend. This was my first time of meeting him, yet there was the eerie feeling that he probably sensed that I was actually part of the family. He followed me everywhere on that day. Ever since then, Mochi and I have become inseparable.

Sure, he can get naughty sometimes, but my family usually disciplines him enough to know when he has done something wrong. Mochi is learning and growing. I often feel something akin to pride for him. The kind of pride one feels for a child or younger sibling.

My favorite moments with Mochi are times when he looks at me with those soulful, puppy dog eyes. I can feel the love radiating out of those astronomical orbits. I love blow-drying his fur after he finishes his bath, the scent of his doggy shampoo wafting in the air. Mochi loves treats, and sometimes prefers to eat off of people’s plates rather than his own food.

The way he acts sometimes almost feels entirely too human to be real. Mochi is a creature that appears to experience complex emotions. Mochi knows when he has done something wrong. He knows when someone is about to leave the house, picking up on the intent when you put on your shoes or grab car keys. He is more loyal to people who he senses have more “authority” to be able to protect him. He is just one fabulous, heartwarming dog. One of the best you would ever meet.

Perhaps this is just my pessimistic nature, but I could not help but think that in adding Mochi as a part of our family, my dad has inevitably brought on the future onset of pain. Sure, Apsos are said to live longer than most dog breeds, but I try my best not to think too much about how we will get over losing him in the (hopefully) far future.

However, the same is also true for all our family members. This is a message I have always been grudgingly aware of, but the day Mochi came into our lives reinforced the idea of love being worth the pain that comes with it. We will continue to love and cherish Mochi with all our hearts, as he does us. We will courageously live with the serene resignation that we will lose the ones we love at some point, but our love for them will always remain in our hearts.

I love you, Mochi. And I am so glad that you are here with us, right here, right now.

Let me know about your best experiences with your pets. In many ways, they can bring so much love and light to our lives…I chose not to put up an actual picture of Mochi for privacy reasons, but it is my hope that the message of this post resonated with you. As always, stay kind and curious ❤

--

--