Oatmeal Gave Me Food for Thought

About acceptance and love

Yvonne Borgquist
What Is Love To You?
2 min readDec 31, 2021

--

Photo by Sheelah Brennan on Unsplash

I hate to admit this, but I loathed you as a child. You turned my stomach.

I have vivid memories of my mom preparing and glorifying you. Her praises of affection made my skin crawl.
No matter how hard she tried, I did not fall in love with you. Your appearance revolted me.

As I grew older, I completely distanced myself from you. I compare my past feelings as if you were today’s Covid-19. I wanted to stay as far away from you as possible, for you were vile. I know this is a harsh description, but you deserve complete honesty.

However, after celebrating my 40th birthday, I discovered how AWESOME you are!

There you were, waiting patiently for me. It was as though the almighty food gods blessed me with an “ Ah-Ha” moment. My senses revealed that you are not disgusting at all.

I found myself embracing you as an integral part of my life.

I felt compelled to gain knowledge about you. The more I became educated, I came to this astounding realization that you are amazing. As the years passed, my respect and gratitude for you blossomed.

Now, at the age of 57, I can say, without a shadow of a doubt,
I love you!
I truly do.

I look forward to beginning my day with you, just the two of us.
You nourish, satiate, and comfort me.

I enjoy you royally adorned with colorful berries, exotic spice of cinnamon, healthy fat of walnuts, and the splash of almond milk.
I savor the warmth and incredible taste of goodness you bring to my palate.

You have given me food for thought about you and relationships with people.

Be open-minded
Be willing to give a second chance
Be accepting
Be appreciative

Despite preconceived thoughts about someone, genuine respect and admiration have an opportunity to develop.

Never judge a book by its cover.
Be willing to discover qualities within each person.

My dearest Oatmeal, thank you for this life lesson. I am grateful that my thoughts about you have transpired into a delectable acceptance.

I love you.

If you enjoyed reading my written piece, I encourage you to read my previous thoughts on creativity. I will be thrilled if you choose to follow me. If you are not a Medium member, you can easily join for a fee of $5.00 per month by clicking on my referral link. At no additional cost to you, I will receive a portion of the monthly fee, and you will receive access to unlimited stories on Medium. Happy reading!

https://yvonne-6482.medium.com/membership

--

--

Yvonne Borgquist
What Is Love To You?

My passions are raising awareness of the special needs community, public speaking, consistently enjoying life with a grateful heart, and glorifying God.