Ode to Mother Earth

Rian De La Torre
What Is Love To You?
1 min readJul 4, 2023
Photo by Bobby Johnson on Unsplash

Mother Earth, Marvel of Marvels,

The beginning of terrestrial life,

What have they done to you, my mother?

I have sorrowfully witnessed how men

proudly tore strips of your skin,

only to bury you beneath the gray asphalt.

I have seen you bleeding in the endless black abyss of tar.

And you still bleed,

Mother, my soul is also being stained with this bloody-red color,

for I am your daughter, and everything that harms you

harms me too.

Your suffering hurts,

and your joy nourishes me with delight.

I want you to be joyful always,

even though I cannot heal all your wounds,

but I can sing for you and thus, with my voice,

reach the hearts of the men who have forgotten you.

I want them to feel you again,

to hear your whispers once more in the songs of birds,

in the raindrops, on the crest of a wave,

in the heavens above.

I want to be your voice, your conscience, my mother,

so that you may smile again and

we all can smile in peace with you.

--

--

Rian De La Torre
What Is Love To You?

I’m an Interpreter, philophy lover and wellness enthusiast who tries to shed some light in people´s life through my writings