Smile Away Darling

Shruthi_Rajaram
What Is Love To You?
2 min readApr 4, 2022

Why Love Never Dies

Photo by Mikail Duran on Unsplash

I notice you from my table. It’s been years now since I last saw you. You are alone at the cafe waiting for someone. You look at your phone and ask the waiter to give you 5 more minutes.

Like always, you look good even today. You look at your phone again and I know you should be opening the selfie camera. You should be zooming in to see if your nose looks big and if your hairdo is still intact. You click a selfie. You smile your smile. And that smile drowns me. It always has. It always makes me feel alive. It’s my rebirth.

I decide to get up from my seat and talk to you. But then, you get this call on your phone and you start talking with excitement. I can see you animatedly describe something to the person on the other side of the phone. You don’t notice me or anyone in the room, you are in your own happy world.

I get up and walk towards you. I can hear you laugh.

I look at your face again. You are 30 feet away now. But then out of the blue, something hits me. I remember the last time I saw you. I remember your face written with sadness and disappointment. Those teary brown eyes helplessly staring at me.

Memories.

These are my memories of you.

Yet, these memories unlike your smile, often drown me, only killing me alive.

I leave the cafe at once not wanting to meet or talk to you.

I don’t want that beautiful smile on your face to leave you the way I did.

~ Shruthi Rajaram

Thank you for reading, if you liked it don’t forget to check out my other works Shruthi_Rajaram. Don’t forget to clap and comment on what you liked about the story.

Also here is a list of under two-minute poems for you.

Until next time. Ciao!!

Shroo ❤

--

--

Shruthi_Rajaram
What Is Love To You?

Writing is how I pour my heart out into the world. Any writing, I feel should be relatable and be able to tell the reader they aren't alone in this world.